
State System Name

Once eligible to retire 
and receiving a pension 
benefit, is working for a 
public employer 
allowed within the same 
state?

Once eligible to retire and 
receiving a pension benefit, is 
working for a public employer 
allowed within the same 
retirement system?

Do the post-retirement employment rules 
apply only to those reemployed by a 
system-participating employer, or do they 
also extend to those working for the 
benefit of an employer through a private 
staffing or placement agency?

Other than those participating in a DROP or phased 
retirement program, what restrictions are in place 
for retirement system retirees who also are 
working for a system member employer: part-time, 
seasonal; number of hours, earnings limitation, 
maximum period of reemployment, etc.

If restrictions on the terms of 
employment, such as length of 
service, earnings, etc., are exceeded, 
what is the consequence (adjusted, 
suspended, etc.?) for either the 
member or the employer?

Is there a required time period 
that must pass between the 
employee’s retirement date and 
date of reemployment?

If so, what is the timeframe? If so, how was the timeframe 
determined?

Are there any post-retirement employment 
provisions set forth for specific positions, 
classes, or categories of employee? If so, 
what are they, and to whom do they apply?

If retirees who return to work receive any 
form of retirement benefit, what is it?

What employee or employer 
contributions are required for 
retirees who return to work?

Does the system maintain a deferred 
retirement option plan (DROP)?

Have changes have been made recently regarding the system’s 
post-retirement employment policies?

Alabama Retirement Systems of 
Alabama Yes Yes Agency also

Two conditions: 1) may not be employed or under 
contract for permanent or full‐time employment; and 2) 
annual earnings limit in 2018 of $31,000. Earnings limit 
is indexed to inflation.

If annual earnings limit is exceeded, 
pension benefit is suspended for 
remainder of calendar year.

Yes
Statute requires separation from 
service but does not specify the time 
period

Statute

ERS or JRF retirees may return to employment 
without earnings limitations in certain temporary 
or part‐time legislative positions while continuing 
to receive benefits, so long as they do not replace 
a full‐time employee.

None

Employers do not pay contributions 
for retirees who return to work but 
continue to receive retirement 
benefits

Closed in 2011

Act No. 2014‐297 allows part‐time service by a retiree as an independent 
contractor with any participating ERS or TRS employer.” The law as enacted 
does not require employers to make contributions for re‐employed retirees 
(an initial version of the draft bill did require that but was later amended, 
although the preamble erroneously omitted the later amendment); Act No. 
2015‐410 increases the maximum compensation that can be earned by an 
ERS or TRS retiree who returns to work, from $17,000 to $30,000

Alaska Alaska Department of 
Retirement Services Yes Yes

Post‐employment rules apply to those who are 
reemployed by a system‐participating 
employer. However, retirees hired by an agency 
and then assigned to their former employer 
doing the same duties would be investigated 
for a bona fide termination requirement.

Retirees may work for public employers with no impact 
on their retirement checks in temporary, on‐call, project 
or independent contractor positions as long as the 
position is not eligible for inclusion in the plan. 
Temporary/Project positions can be up to two years in 
length.  Independent contractors will need to 
demonstrate they are real contractors by providing a 
business license and evidence of other clients.  

If reemployed in a PERS or TRS position, 
benefits are suspended until employment 
is terminated.

Yes

Retirees age 62 or older must serve a 
60 day waiting period before rehire 
with the same employer in any 
capacity.  Retirees younger than 62 
must serve a six‐month break.  No 
prearrangement for reemployment 
can be entered into before 
retirement.

IRS rules on pre‐arrangement and 
advice from tax counsel based on 
private letter rulings for other plans.

Personal service contracts may be allowed by a 
state agency or the University of Alaska if it is 
determined that there is a compelling reason to do 
so because of an individual's specialized or 
extensive experience that relates to a particular 
program or project; with the legislature during 
legislative sessions; with the University of Alaska 
to teach or perform research duties; or, with the 
University Board of Regents for the University, and 
the Commissioner of Administration for the State, 
when there is a compelling reason.                              
Recent legislation allows TRS members to rehire 
with school districts after serving a waiting period 
for one year while continuing to receive benefits if 
the district has a shortage of teachers.

None None No

Alaska Administrative Code 2 AAC 35.227 and 2 AAC 36.188 govern rehire 
with the same employer after retirement to ensure bona fide termination 
of employment. Recent legislation allows TRS members to rehire with 
school districts after serving a waiting period for one year while continuing 
to receive benefits if the district has a shortage of teachers.

Arizona Arizona State Retirement 
System Yes Yes

To be hired by an ASRS employer, member 
must have reached normal (unreduced) 
retirement and meet work requirements (for 
the first year, hours worked cannot meet 
membership criteria). If hired by a private 
entity, early retirees can return and there are 
no work requirements during the first year.

Per A.R.S. § 38‐766.01, retiree must have attained 
normal retirement age and must have terminated 
employment for the first 365 days following retirement.

Pension benefit is suspended and retiree is 
returned to active member status. 
Member is required to pay back pension 
overpayments.

No ‐ provided the employee 
terminates employment and meets 
other criteria for returning; Yes ‐ if 
retired and position meets 
membership criteria

365 days A.R.S. § 38‐766.01

Arizona law allows a member to retire, receive a 
pension and continue working without first 
terminating employment if all the following 
conditions are met: Member must have reached 
normal retirement on or before the date of 
retirement; Member’s work hours must be 
reduced below 20/20 after retirement. If the 
member has already worked one or more weeks of 
20 or more hours in the fiscal year before 
retirement, those weeks will count toward the 
20/20 criteria; Member’s employer must agree to 
the reduced work hours.

No

Beginning 7/1/12, employers are 
required to pay an actuarially 
determined Alternate Contribution 
Rate (ACR) for each retiree hired 
(whether hired directly or through a 
private firm) to mitigate the 
actuarial impact of hiring retired 
members into positions normally 
filled by active members. In FY 19 
the ACR is 10.53%.

Closed in 2006

Chapter 357, Laws of 2011, effective 7/1/12 requires employers to pay 
an Alternate Contribution Rate (ACR) for members who return to work in 
any capacity and in a position ordinarily filled by an employee of the 
employer. The ACR is calculated as the greater of 2% or the total 
"deficit" payment (the ASRS Past Service Funding Requirement Rate plus 
the employer LTD Past Service Funding Requirement Rate). Also specifies 
that the re‐employed member does not accrue credited service, account 
balances, retirement benefits, and their time is not later eligible for 
service purchase.

Arizona Arizona Public Safety Yes Yes Rules apply to both Rehired annuitants are prohibited from returning to work Benefits are suspended until termination  Yes One year, or 60 days depending on  IRS requirement / Statute A retiree may return to work for the employer  No second retirement benefit Beginning 7/1/12, employers are  Yes Chapter 357, Laws of 2011, effective 7/1/12 requires employers to pay 

Arkansas Arkansas Public Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Board Regulation 220 specifically prohibits a 
return to covered employment, even on a 
contract basis, within the proscribed 180 days.

None N/A Yes
30 days if retired before 7/1/09; 180 
days if retired on or after 7/1/09; 1 
year if retired from elected office

Arkansas Code § 24‐4‐520 None

Retirees who retire on or after 7/1/09 may return 
to work and continue receiving retirement 
benefits provided they meet the 180 day 
separation period, but they cannot again become 
a member of APERS and receive service credit to 
further increase their retirement benefit.

Employers are required to make 
contributions, at the same rate as for 
active members, for retirees who 
return to covered service or who 
enter DROP

Yes

Act 657 of 2009 extended the time of separation from employment for 
retirement purposes from 30 days to 180 days, with exceptions for those 
enrolled in DROP as of 1/1/09 and those who retired and started receiving 
benefits between 1/1/09 and 6/30/09; Act 558, Laws of 2011, requires 
employers to make contributions for retirees who return to covered 
service, and who enter DROP, as they do for active employees.

Arkansas Arkansas Teacher Retirement 
System Yes Yes

Rules extend also to those working through a 
private staffing or placement agency.

Rules depend on retiree's age and years of service at 
retirement. Those who, on the effective retirement date, 
are under age 65 and have less than 38 years of credited 
service with the ATRS, must have terminated 
employment prior to the effective date of retirement 
with ATRS covered employers for six calendar months. 
Retirees under age 65 with 38 or more years of ATRS 
service or a combined total of 38 years of credited ATRS 
service, participation in the DROP plan, and reciprocal 
service from another eligible state retirement system, 
must terminate employment with an ATRS employer 
prior to the effective date of retirement and remain 
terminated with ATRS covered employers for one full 
calendar month. Retirees who are age 65 or older prior 
to the effective date of retirement may receive both 
retirement benefits and continue working at an ATRS 
employer without terminating.

Required repayment of all retirement 
benefits received.

Yes

Varies by age and service: If under 
age 65 and less than 38 years of 
service, 6 months; if under age 65 
and 38 or more years of service, 1 
month; if age 65 or older, no 
separation period is required

Arkansas Code § 24‐7‐502 None None

Employers are required to make 
contributions for retirees, at the 
same rate as for active members, 
who return to covered service

Yes

Act 743 of 2009 provides that a member of the ATRS is not considered 
separated from covered employment if the retiree returns to covered 
employment within 180 days (an increase from 30 days under former law). 
This requirement does not apply to members over age 65, or members with 
38 years or more of covered service, or to members who retire on or before 
7/1/09, until when the 30‐day rule remained in effect.

California California Public Employees' 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Rules do not apply to independent contractors, 
consultants, or those employed by a third‐party 
agency

Annuitants may be rehired to fill an "extra help" position, 
characterized by limited duration, work up to 960 hours 
in a fiscal year, for compensation no less than the 
minimum or more than the maximum paid to other 
employees performing comparable duties. An annuitant 
may be rehired in an "extra help" position

Any retiree found to be in violation of the 
working after retirement laws is reinstated 
from retirement, with resulting 
termination of benefits, repayment of 
benefits already received, payment of 
retroactive retirement contributions plus 
interest

Yes

180 days, unless qualified under one 
of several qualified exemptions; 60 
days if the member has attained 
normal retirement age and there is 
no verbal or written agreement to 
return to work

Statute

There are exceptions for those who serve in an 
appointed or elected office after retirement, a 
member of a state board or commission, an 
individual serving as the Commissioner of the 
State Board of Parole Hearings

No second retirement benefit None No

Act No. 2017‐261 authorizes the Board of Administration of the Public 
Employees' Retirement System to assess an employer that fails to enroll a 
retired member employed without reinstatement within a certain number 
of days after the effective date of hire, or fails to report the pay rate and 
number of hours worked by the retired member within a certain number of 
days of the last day of the pay period in which the retired member worked, 
a specified sum fee per month. Act No. 238 Amends the California Public 
Employees' Pension Reform Act of 2013. Relates to eligibility for 
employment after retirements. Relates to an appointment that is necessary 
to fill a critically needed state employment position and which entity is 
responsible for certification.

California California State Teachers' 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Retirees may be excluded from the earnings 
limit and other postretirement employment 
requirements if a) they return to work for a 
third‐party employer that does not participate 
in a California public pension system; and the 
activities performed are not normally 
performed by employees of a CalSTRS 
employer, and the assignment is performed for 
24 months or less.

Benefit is reduced dollar for dollar by any compensation 
earned from retired member activities during the first 
180 calendar days following the most recent retirement 
effective date, up to the benefit payable during that 
period. After the 180‐day period, an annual earnings 
limit is in place; in FY 18, that limit is $43,785.

CalSTRS will reduce the member's benefit 
dollar‐for‐dollar up to the amount payable 
during the violation period. If the CalSTRS 
retiree received a golden handshake 
incentive, the member may not return to 
work within 5 years from retirement with 
the employer that granted the incentive. If 
they do return to work during the first 5 
years, they will be subjected to revocation 
of the golden handshake incentive.

Yes 180 calendar days Statute

An exemption to the separation from service 
requirement is made for those who have attained 
normal retirement age, whose appointment is 
necessary to fill a position of critical need, whose 
appointment has been approved by the governing 
body of their employer, and whose termination 
from service is not the source of the need to 
acquire their services. Retirees who return to work 
for a third‐party employer that does not 
participate in a California public pension system 
may be excluded from the postretirement earnings 
limit and other postretirement employment 
requirements if the activities performed are not 
normally performed by employees of a CalSTRS 
employer and the activities are performed for 24 
months or less.

No
No employee or employer 
contributions are required

No
Chapter No. 558 (2014) provides that activities of an employee performing 
an assignment of 24 months or less are not included in the definition of 
retired member activities.

California University of California 
Retirement System Yes Yes

The policy restrictions do not apply to 
individuals who are not UC employees, e.g. 
those hired through a private placement 
agency, but such agencies are not to be used to 
bring back retirees to do work that is typically 
done by UC employees.

Retirees reemployed as University staff and recalled 
academic appointees may work no more than 43% 
during any 12‐month period. Appointments do not 
normally exceed 12 months.

Benefits are suspended and retiree is 
reemployed in a career employment as an 
active, contributing member

Yes At least 30 days ‐ preferably 90 days IRS / Board of Regents policy
The UC Board of Regents has the authority to 
approve reemployment arrangements in excess of 
the appointment percentage and duration rules.

No None No None



Colorado Colorado Public Employees' 
Retirement Association Yes Yes

Post‐retirement employment restrictions apply 
only to those re‐employed by a system‐
participating employer, and not to those 
working through a private staffing or 
placement agency.

Retirees are limited to 110 days or 720 hours of work per 
calendar year.

If work exceeds 110 days or 720 hours, 
PERA must reduce a working retiree's 
benefit in a future month by 5 percent for 
each day in excess of the limit.

Yes
Retirees are prohibited from 
returning to work during the 
effective month of retirement

Statute

Effective beginning with the 2017‐2018 school 
year, rural school districts in Colorado may declare 
a critical shortage of qualified teachers, school bus 
drivers, or food service workers. Retirees who 
return to work in a critical shortage position are 
not subject to PERA's working after retirement 
limits. Certain higher educational institutions and 
all school districts have the ability to move up to 
10 working retirees per year to 140 days per 
calendar year without reductions in benefits.

The working retiree contribution does not accrue 
an additional benefit

State law requires that employer 
contributions are to be remitted on 
compensation paid for services 
rendered by a PERA retiree or 
contractor. Effective 1/1/11 PERA 
retirees, including contractors, are 
required to pay a working retiree 
contribution, which is set at the 
same rate as the member 
contribution rate for that employer.

No

Chapter 2, Laws of 2010 requires a retiree who returns to work for a PERA 
employer to make a contribution to PERA equal to the member 
contribution, and specifies that working retiree contributions are not 
credited to the retiree's member contribution account. HB 17 ‐ 1776: 
Critical Shortage provisions for qualified teachers, school bus drivers, or 
food service workers was a result of the passage of HB 17 – 1176.

Colorado Colorado Fire & Police 
Pension Association Yes Yes

Rules only reference those working directly for 
a police or fire agency.

No restriction on hours or earnings for reemployed 
annuitants. However, retirees who return to work for the 
same FPPA employer from which they retired have their 
pension benefit suspended.

N/A

No required time period between 
retirement date and date of 
reemployment beyond IRS rules and 
regulations on separation from 
service.

None specified N/A None specified

Retirement benefits are suspended during 
reemployment unless the retiree has already 
reached the age and service requirements in the 
plan, and returns to work for a different employer 
which is not in the same plan. Retirement benefits 
are resumed upon separation from service from 
the reemployment.

The employee and employer 
contributions required by the plan in 
which the retiree is enrolled during 
reemployment.

Yes None since 2013

Connecticut Connecticut Teachers' 
Retirement Board Yes Yes

A retiree may earn up to 45% of of the maximum salary 
level, established by the school district, for the position 
occupied.

Earnings received in excess of 45% rule 
must be reimbursed to TRB

Yes

Six months, if retired before reaching 
the definition of normal retirement 
in the CTRB statute, or before 
turning age 62

Plan policy

A retired member can work in a Subject Shortage 
Area, or at a school located in a Priority School 
District, for one school year and, with prior 
approval from the CTRB, for a second school year 
with no limitation on earnings, no impact on the 
member’s pension, and no requirement to 
reimburse the CTRB.

A reemployed retired member may not make 
retirement contributions or earn any additional 
benefits for the period of reemployment.

No employee contributions are 
required; it is unclear whether or not 
employers are required to contribute

None specified

2003: "Connecticut. PA 03‐232 increased the amount a retired teacher can 
earn by returning to part‐time covered employment before losing 
retirement benefits. Prior law allowed earnings of 45 percent of entry‐level 
salary for the same subject area; the act increases the allowance to 45 
percent of the position maximum. A teacher who earns more than the 
maximum allowance must return the excess to the Teachers Retirement 
Board (TRB)." ; 2006 "Connecticut. Public Act 06‐192 provides that a 
former teacher receiving retirement benefits from the system may be 
reemployed by a local board of education or by any constituent unit of the 
state system of higher education in a position designated by the 
Commissioner of Education as a subject shortage area for the school year in 
which the former teacher is being employed. Such employment may be for 
up to one full school year but may, with prior approval by the board, be 
extended for an additional school year."

Connecticut Connecticut State Employees' 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Retirees employed by the state in a temporary position 
may work up to 120 days in a calendar year, with 
graduated limits of hours that may be worked depending 
on the position, and are further limited to two 120‐day 
terms. A non‐union employee returning to the same job 
may earn up to 75% of their final pay, and a union 
employee may earn the greater of the minimum rate 
provided for the job classification or 75% of their final 
pay. A non‐union employee returning to a different job 
may earn the lesser of 75% of their final pay or the 
minimum rate provided for the job classification, and a 
union employee may earn the minimum rate provided 
for the job classification. 

Pension payments and benefits must 
cease. The retiree is required to resume 
active membership in the tier from which 
they retired.

Yes

A retiree reemployed in a state teaching position 
may work 45.97% of a full‐time teaching schedule 
without impacting SERS pension rights, which 
equates to 12 load credits at a State University, 14 
contact hours at a State Community/Technical 
College, or 120 days at institutions with no credit 
basis.

No second retirement benefit Unclear No None

Delaware Delaware Public Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Post‐retirement employment rules extend to 
those working through a private staffing or 
placement agency.

Generally speaking, a retiree cannot receive a monthly 
pension in any month while working in a pension‐
covered position for an employer that participates in the 
retiree’s pension plan. In addition, retirees who are 
younger than age 65 at retirement must have a six 
month break from employment before working for any 
organization that participates in the pension plan from 
which he/she retired. Retired state employees may not 
earn more than $30,000 in a year. Seasonal workers are 
limited to 30 hours per week. Temporary employees who 
are working more than 30 hours per week must work for 
a period of less than 12 months. Substitute employees 
must be working on a per diem basis.

Retirees who fail to comply with the post‐
retirement employment work criteria will 
have their monthly pension suspended. In 
addition, the retiree may have to repay 
any monthly pension benefits paid for any 
month the retiree did not meet the 
requirements.

Yes

Retirees who are younger than age 
65 at retirement must have a six 
month break from employment 
before working for any organization 
that participates in the pension plan 
from which he/she retired.

Delaware Code, DPERS rules and 
regulations

Break‐in‐service requirement does not apply to 
retirees aged 65 or older at retirement

No None No None

District of 
Columbia

District of Columbia 
Retirement Board Yes Yes

No restrictions, but salary is reduced by amount of 
pension benefit.

Members receiving a retirement benefit 
and who are employed by the DC school 
system will have their salary reduced by 
the amount of their retirement benefit.

Yes
An unspecified period of separation 
is required

The salary offset does not apply if rehired as a 
substitute teacher, or if rehired as a fully sworn 
temporary (full‐time or part‐time) police officer 
with MPD or a temporary (full‐time or part‐time) 
employee of the Department of Forensic Sciences, 
or as public school security personnel

No None No

Act 501 (2016) amends, on an emergency basis, the Retired Police Officer 
Redeployment Amendment Act of 1992 to authorize the Chief of the 
Metropolitan Police Department to rehire retired Metropolitan Police 
Department police officers as senior law enforcement officers, at any rank, 
without liability for annuity offset.

Florida Florida Retirement System Yes Yes

A retiree may work for a private employer, a 
Florida public employer not covered by the FRS, 
or a public employer in another state or 
covered by another state’s retirement system 
or with the federal government.

After a retiree meets the definition of termination, he or 
she may return to employment, but may not receive both 
a salary and a retirement benefit in the same month 
during the 7th through 12th calendar months after his or 
her retirement or DROP termination date.

Pension Plan benefits are suspended for 
every month in which the retiree is 
employed during the remainder of the 
reemployment limitation period (7th ‐12th 
month), and benefits that would have 
been paid during the period of suspension 
are forfeited.

Yes, the member must meet the 
definition of termination which is 6 
calendar months.

After the 6 calendar months, the 
member may return to employment; 
however, benefits are suspended 
during calendar months 7 through 
12. After month 12, the reemployed 
retiree will not be required to repay 
any distributions, and they may 
continue receiving their benefit.

Statute

A retired law enforcement officer may be 
reemployed as a school resource officer without 
being subject to the reemployment limitation 
months 7 through 12

No second retirement benefit is available for 
Pension Plan retirees; renewed membership is 
available for those who have retired from the 
Investment Plan.

Pension Plan retirees are not eligible 
for renewed membership: no 
employee contributions are required 
and the employer contribution is the 
Unfunded Actuarial Liability (UAL) 
plus the Health Insurance Subsidy 
(HIS) for the appropriate 4 classes of 
membership: Regular 4.96%; Special 
Risk 11.35%; Elected Officers range 
of 27.91% ‐ 44.35%; and Senior 
Management 18.36%.

Yes

2018 Legislative Changes, Senate Bill 7026: Effective March 9, 2018, there 
is one exception to the restrictions on reemployment limitations after 
retirement. A retired law enforcement officer, may be reemployed as a 
school resource officer by an employer that participates in the FRS during 
the 7th through 12th calendar months after his or her retirement date or 
after your DROP termination date and receive both your salary and 
retirement benefits

Georgia Georgia Teachers Retirement 
System Yes Yes

Working compensation is limited to one‐half of 
the average annual compensation used to 
calculate retirement benefit or the final 
compensation at the time of the member's 
retirement, whichever is greater.

Retirees may work up to three months in a full‐time 
position within each fiscal year.

Benefits may be terminated and/or past 
benefits paid may be collected.

Yes At least 1 month Statute

Different rules apply to retirees seeking to return 
to work for different agencies. See more: 
https://www.trsga.com/uploads/Working%20after
%20Retirement%20Chart.pdf

None

Compensation payable for 
employment that is less than 1/2 
time is not subject to TRS 
contributions

No

Act 457,Laws of 2010 provides that retired teachers who have reached 
normal retirement age have two options if they return to a position that 
ordinarily would require membership in the TRS: 1) contribute to the 
system (i.e. restore active membership and cease benefits) or 2) not 
contribute to the system, continue receiving benefits, and accrue no 
additional service; Act 275 of 2009 provides that any retired member of 
the Teachers Retirement System who has not yet reached normal 
retirement age returns to service as a public school employee in any 
position which normally requires membership in this retirement system, 
such member's retirement benefit shall cease and the retired member shall 
reestablish active membership in the retirement system.

Georgia Georgia Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Rules apply to both, with an exception for a 
rehired retiree who qualifies as an independent 
contractor by meeting specific criteria. To 
qualify, a contracting entity must 1) have 
multiple employees; 2) have multiple contracts, 
and the contracts are not limited to employers 
as defined in O.C.G.A. 47‐2‐1; 3) the 
contractual relationship with the employers 
was not created to allow a retired employee to 
continue employment in a position similar to 
the one held before retirement.

Retirees may work up to 1,040 hours during any calendar 
year

Benefits are suspended the month 
following the month the rehired retiree 
exceeds 1040 hours in a calendar year. 
Benefits are automatically reinstated 
January of the next calendar year. If an 
employer completes reporting late and the 
retiree exceeds 1040 hours, the employer 
is responsible for repaying any 
overpayment of benefits made to rehired 
retiree.

Yes
1 month (2 months if retired under 
early retirement provisions)

O.C.G.A. 47‐2‐110 No None
No employee or employer 
contributions

No

Act 455, Laws of 2010 provides that if a retiring employee has not reached 
normal retirement age on the date of retirement and returns to any paid 
service, his or her application for retirement shall be nullified; provides that 
certain service as an independent contractor shall not result in a suspension 
of retirement benefits.



Hawaii Hawaii Employees Retirement 
System Yes Yes

No, the rules do not apply in the case of a third‐
party staffing or placement agency, as long as 
there is no "employer‐employee" relationship.

Restrictions on work depend on the length of the 
participant's break in service and on the type of work the 
retired participant performs. A six consecutive calendar 
month break in state or county employment prior to the 
first day of employment if the retiree is employed in a 
position that is excluded from ERS membership. 
Examples include: short term employment of less than 
50% full time equivalence, temporary employment of 3 
months or 90 days or less, part‐time positions of less 
than 20 hours per week, substitute teaching positions, 
etc. A break in state or county employment of 12 months 
prior to the first day of employment permits a retiree to 
be employed in a position specifically identified as a 
labor shortage or difficult‐to‐fill position.

Retirant is required to reimburse the ERS 
for any retirement allowance received, 
plus 8% interest. Also, the retirant is 
required to pay the retirement 
contributions during the employment, plus 
interest at 8%. The Employer is required to 
reimburse the ERS employer contributions, 
plus interest at 8%.

Yes

6 consecutive months if the retiree is 
employed in a position excluded 
from ERS membership (i.e. part‐time 
or temporary); 12 consecutive 
months if the retiree is employed in 
a position identified as a labor 
shortage or difficult to fill position

State law

An exception to the type of position a retiree may 
be hired to is made for positions identified as a 
labor shortage or difficult‐to‐fill position. A 12‐
month break in service is required for retirees 
rehired to a position meeting this designation.

None

For general employees, 14.20% in FY 
18, rising to 20.20% effective FY 21; 
For police officers, firefighters and 
corrections officers, 20.90% in FY 18, 
rising to 33.90% effective FY 21

No

Act 179, Laws of 2010 (HB 2533), provides that retirees of the Hawaii 
Retirement System may not be rehired by the state or a county 
government unless they are re‐enrolled in the retirement system, with 
exceptions. Those who are rehired without being re‐enrolled, when 
identified, are required to reimburse the system the amount of benefits 
received, make the employee contributions they would have owed with 8% 
annual interest, and contribute to the system for the administrative costs it 
bore in the matter, if the employee is found to have been at fault. 
Employers of such employees are to make the foregone employer 
contributions to the system with 8% interest, and contribute to the system 
for its administrative expenses, if the employer is found to have been at 
fault. Exceptions to the above provisions exist for elected officials, jurors 
and precinct officials, certain part‐time or temporary employees, and 
people who were not employed by state or county for 12 months and then 
return to a position identified as a labor shortage or difficult‐to‐fill position.

Idaho Idaho Public Employee 
Retirement System Yes Yes

If the member is an early retiree, they must 
have a 90‐day break before returning to work 
in any capacity for the same employer, 
including as an independent contractor and/or 
leased employees.

PERSI retirees who return to work for a PERSI employer 
cannot work 20 hours or more per week for 5 
consecutive months or more.

Benefits are suspended and the member is 
restored to active membership. In 
addition, any benefits received after the 
date the eligibility requirement is met 
must be repaid to the system.

Yes

Early retirees must have a 90‐day 
break before returning to work for 
the same employer and a 24‐hour 
break before returning to a different 
employer. A Service retiree must 
have a 24‐hour break before 
returning to work for any employer.

Statute

School teachers and administrators, and public 
safety officers reemployed as school resource 
officers, who have an unreduced benefit may 
retire and return to work without affecting their 
retirement benefits. Certain elected officials may 
retire in place and begin receiving retirement 
benefits. 90‐day break‐in‐service is not required if 
the retiring employee is age 65 or older (60 for 
public safety officers).

No second retirement benefit

In certain instances, teachers may 
return to work full time and still 
continue to receive their retirement 
benefits. In these cases, the 
employer is required to submit 
employer contributions. 59‐1356(4)

No

2019 Session Law Chapter 202 provides for the exemption of 
postretirement employment restrictions for retired public safety officers 
who become reemployed as school resource officers.

Chapter 131, Laws of 2007, allows retired teachers or administrators to be 
rehired as "at will" employees without putting their PERSI benefits in 
jeopardy. The Act stipulates the conditions and requirements should a 
school district decide to hire or rehire a retired school teacher. Retired 
teachers or administrators who qualify are those who have 1) reached the 
Rule of 90, 2) are not participating in the early retirement program, AND 3) 
who are retired on or after the age of 62. Districts will pay the employer's 
share of retirement contributions for such returned teachers, but the 
employee will not accrue additional benefits 

Chapter 185, Laws of 2006, (SB 1345) allows a retired member of the 
Public Employee Retirement System to continue receiving retirement 
benefits from the system after election to office, provided the person does 
not return to an office from which he or she retired, has been retired at 
least six months, and retired with an unreduced retirement benefit. 
Previous law limited continuation of benefits to retirees elected to offices 
that required less than 20 hours per week employment.

Illinois Illinois State Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Rules do not apply to those employed as 
contractors or by third‐party employers

May work up to 75 days in a calendar year.

Pension benefit is terminated on the 76th 
day of work and employee must make 
contributions to the plan as an active 
member.

No None N/A

75 day limit does not apply if the retiree returns to 
a position that requires Senate Confirmation and 
such member declines SERS coverage during that 
employment.

No
No employee or employer 
contributions

No

For employees entering the plans on or after January 1, 2011, Public Act 96‐
0889 provides that annuities will be suspended for a person who returns to 
service covered by the [reciprocal] systems included in the act. The 
legislation says the benefit will be recalculated “if appropriate,” without 
explaining under what circumstances re‐calculation would be appropriate.

Illinois Illinois State Universities 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Rules only apply for annuitants returning to 
SURS‐covered employers, or for Tier II 
members, annuitants who begin employment 
with an employer covered under the Illinois 
Reciprocal Systems Reciprocal Act.

Earnings limitations are identified as follows: if retired 
before age 60, earnings cannot exceed the current base 
monthly annuity; if retired at age 60 or later, earnings 
combined with the base monthly annuity at retirement, 
cannot exceed the member’s highest annual earnings 
prior to retirement. In addition, for Tier II retirees, full‐
time employment with any eligible reciprocal system 
covered under the Illinois Reciprocal Systems Reciprocal 
Act may result in the suspension of the annuity.

The member would receive the employee 
portion only of their annuity or they may 
elect to suspend their annuity and 
recontribute to the system as long as they 
would be returning to work for at least 9 
months.

Yes 60 days Statute, 40 ILCS 5/15‐139 & 139.5 No No second retirement benefit

Employers who hire an "affected 
annuitant" must make contributions 
equal to the annuitant's annualized 
retirement annuity, payable on the 
day in which the employer has 
employed the affected annuitant.

No

IL S 2196, 2014, Notice provisions re: annuitant is returning to service by 
providing the annuitant's rate of compensation and anticipated length of 
employment. Public Act 97‐0968 of 2010 provides that a SURS‐covered 
employer must contribute to SURS if it employs an "affected annuitant" on 
or after 8/1/13. The contribution will be equal to the affected annuitant’s 
annualized retirement annuity payable on the day in which the employer 
has employed the affected annuitant. An affected annuitant is identified as 
an annuitant who receives compensation in an academic year greater than 
40% of their highest annual earnings prior to retirement, unless the 
member's annualized annuity from SURS is less than $10,000 and they 
were not already an affected annuitant prior to July 1, 2015.

Illinois Illinois Municipal Retirement 
Fund Yes Yes

The post‐employment rules apply to those who 
return to work through a private staffing or 
placement agency. Those who return to work 
as a true independent contractor are not 
subject to an annual hours limitation.

The eligibility standard for IMRF participation is 600 
hours worked annually for School districts and special 
education cooperatives; non‐school employers may 
select the 600‐hour standard or a 1,000‐hour standard. 
Retired members who return to work may work and 
continue to receive their pension benefits as long as they 
do not reach the applicable annual hourly standard.

Working retirees must repay both the 
benefits they receive after exceeding the 
permissible work threshold and pay 
contributions for the same period. 
Benefits are suspended and the person is 
re‐enrolled into IMRF as an active 
member.

No N/A N/A

Tier 2 (hired on or after 1/1/11) retirees face 
additional return‐to‐work restrictions, which 
include working for reciprocal systems specified in 
Article 20 of the Illinois Pension Code (the 
Retirement Systems Reciprocal Act).

No None No

For employees entering the plans on or after January 1, 2011, Public Act 96‐
0889 provides that annuities will be suspended for a person who returns to 
service covered by the [reciprocal] systems included in the act. The 
legislation says the benefit will be recalculated “if appropriate,” without 
explaining under what circumstances re‐calculation would be appropriate.

Illinois Illinois Teachers Retirement 
System Yes Yes Rules apply to employees only

A retiree may be employed in a TRS‐covered position for 
up to 100 paid days or 500 paid hours per school year 
(120/600 for the 2018‐19 and 2019‐20 school years) and 
still receive a retirement annuity. Each full day (five or 
more hours) is counted as five hours. Only work that 
requires teacher licensure is subject to limits. Post‐
retirement employment in one retirement system within 
the state does (e.g., TRS) does not limit work in another 
system (e.g., in state university system, municipal 
retirement fund, etc.) as long as the person did not retire 
under the Illinois Reciprocal Act. If retired from the Public 
School Teachers’ Pension and Retirement Fund of 
Chicago, a retiree is allowed to work in a TRS‐covered 
position for any number of days or hours. However, if 
they exceed the 100 days/500 hours limitation in a 
school year, they must begin contributing to TRS upon 
exceeding the limitation.

Retirement annuity is suspended, retiree 
must re‐enter active membership, and 
their employer must remit TRS 
contributions on all creditable earnings 
after the limitations are exceeded. If the 
retiree resumes teaching in the same 
school year in which they retired, or if 
they exceed the limitations in the first 
school year following retirement they 
must repay all annuity payments received 
from the date of retirement in full.

Yes
30 days since last retirement plan 
contribution, and not within the 
same school year (July 1‐June 30).

Statute No No second retirement benefit

If below the limits, no contributions 
are required. If limits are exceeded, 
the member is considered active and 
all member and employer 
contributions required.

No

2018 legislation temporarily raises the amount of time retired TRS 
members can teach and accept salaries without negatively affecting their 
pensions. Through the end of the 2019‐2020 school year, the limits will be 
120 paid days or 600 paid hours before their retirement annuity is 
suspended and they are re‐classified as “active” members. The previous law 
allowed retired teachers to hold a classroom position for 100 paid days or 
500 paid hours.

Indiana Indiana Public Retirement 
System Yes Yes

Extends to those working for the benefit of an 
employer through a private staffing or 
placement agency

None, as long as the retiree was retired for at least 30 
days and did not have an agreement to work prior to 
retiring.

N/A Yes

30 days since the employee's last day 
of work (differs from the official 
retirement date, which is the first 
day of the next month), unless 
retired from another Indiana public 
pension fund and age 55 or older, in 
which case there is no required 
minimum period of separation to 
return to a PERF‐covered position 
with the same employer. No 
required minimum period of 
separation is specified for ASA Only 
members who return to work after 
retirement, but they are prohibited 
from establishing a formal or 
informal agreement with their 
employer to return to covered 
employment.

Retirees of PERF or TRF who attain age 70 with at 
least 20 years of service may elect to receive their 
retirement benefit while working. If they choose 
to do so they do not accrue additional service 
credit. Those serving in elected office must attain 
age 55 with at least 20 years of service to receive 
their benefit while working.

No service credit is earned, and no contributions 
are made to reemployed retirees' ASA accounts. If 
an initial plan election was made (including a 
default election), no second election is permitted 
for a retiree who returns to work.

None
Yes ‐ for police officers, firefighters, state 
excise police, gaming agents, conservation 
enforcement officers

Act No. 209‐2016 provides that the state or a political subdivision may 
elect whether certain retired members of the public employees' retirement 
fund may begin or resume membership in the public employees' defined 
contribution plan for periods of reemployment with the state or a 
participating political subdivision.



Iowa Iowa Public Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

The rule applies to a private staffing agency 
only when the retiree is being placed with their 
previous employer.

Earnings limit of the greater of $30,000 per year or the 
annual Social Security wage limit

There is a benefits overpayment when the 
retiree exceeds the $30,000 earnings limit. 
The overpayment amount is the lesser of 
50% of the earnings over $30,000 OR the 
retirement benefit amount for the rest of 
the calendar year beginning with the 
month the earnings limit was reached.

Yes

1 month for non‐IPERS covered 
employment with an IPERS 
employer, 4 months for covered 
employment with or volunteering for 
an IPERS covered employer

Statute

Exceptions to bona fide retirement rules apply to 
those over age 70 (a retiree must begin receiving 
benefits at age 70.5), Iowa National Guard 
members, and part‐time elected officials. Those 
age 65 and older are not subject to IPERS' 
postretirement employment earnings limits. Also, 
retirees in elected positions are not subject to the 
reemployment earnings limit as well as an 
exception to the bona fide retirement rule.

A second benefit is provided based on the 
reemployment period. The total years of service 
cannot exceed 30 (22 for special service 
members), for purposes of this calculation. The 
second retirement benefit may be added to the 
retiree's preretirement benefit, or provided as a 
lump sum equal to the total employee and 
employer contributions during the reemployment 
period.

Employee and employer 
contributions are required

No

2002 ‐ H.F. 2532 amends existing law to increase the amount, from 
$14,000 to $30,000, that an Iowa Public Employees Retirement System 
(IPERS) member who has a bona fide retirement and is under 65 years of 
age can earn in public employment covered by IPERS and still continue to 
receive the member's retirement allowance without a reduction.

Kansas Kansas Public Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Generally yes, although there is an exemption 
for retirees who return to a KPERS employer 
through a third party if they satisfy three tests: 
1) the retiree is not returning to a position 
similar to one held before retirement; 2) the 
position activities are not normally performed 
exclusively by employees of the agency; 3) the 
services provided by the third party are on a 
limited‐term basis.

No restrictions for non‐public safety retirees; annual 
earnings limit of $25,000 for police & fire plan retirees.

Benefit is terminated for the remainder of 
the year

Yes

60 days (180 if retiring before age 
62) for general employees and 
teachers; 30 days for police & fire. 
The waiting period begins the day 
after one's retirement date (the first 
day of the next month following 
retirement).

Statute

Exemptions from working‐after‐retirement rules 
cover substitute teachers (not working under 
contract), state and local elected officials, 
legislators, state hospital nurses, law enforcement 
training center instructors, poll workers, legislative 
staff, KP&F and Judges plan members

None

For retirees reemployed in covered 
positions, employers must contribute 
at the statutory rate on the first 
$25,000 of earnings, and 30% on 
earnings over $25,000; no 
contributions are required for 
retirees who return to work in non‐
covered positions (seasonal or 
temporary and require less than 
1,000 hours, or 630 hours for 
schools, of work per year), or retirees 
who return to work as contractors 
whose services will be used for a 
limited time.

Yes, for KP&F members with the Kansas 
Highway Patrol

• Chapter 137, Laws of 2009 increased the break‐in‐service requirement 
from 30 to 60 days after retirement; stipulated that retirees returning to 
work as contractors are subject to the same policies as other KPERS retirees 
who return to work; eliminated (for three years) the statutory $20,000 
earnings limit for licensed public school employees, and required special 
payments from employers who employ licensed public school retirees.
 • Chapter 171, Laws of 2012 extended the earnings limit exemption for 
reemployed licensed public school employees for three years, until 7/1/15.
 • Act 2015‐77 further extended the earnings limit exemption for currently 
licensed and retired reemployed licensed public school employees until 
7/1/20 (established "bridge rules" which affect other employees differently 
depending on their licensing status and retirement date); increased the 
earnings limitation, to $25,000, for most reemployed KPERS retirees; 
established exemptions of up to 3 years for special education teachers, 
designated hard‐to‐fill positions, and up to 1 year for employer‐designated 
"hardship" positions; established employer contribution requirements; 
establishes a pilot DROP plan for KP&F members with the Kansas Highway 
Patrol • SB 21 established a 180‐day waiting period for retirees under age 
62, revised employer contribution rates for reemployed retirees, removed 
earnings limits; eliminated policy exemptions for licensed school 
professionals, hardship, hard‐to‐fill, and special education teachers; 
clarified rules for rehiring retirees as contractors

Kentucky Kentucky Retirement Systems Yes Yes

Only to those reemployed by a system‐
participating employer, however, retirees who 
return to work as an independent contractor, 
employee of a private leasing company, 
employee of a temporary staffing agency, or 
volunteer are evaluated on a case‐by‐case basis

None specified N/A Yes

3 months for most employees (1 
month for an employee retiring from 
a hazardous duty position and 
returning to a regular full‐time 
hazardous duty position).

Statute

Yes. A retired member who qualifies as a volunteer 
is not required to have a bona fide separation 
from service or observe the duration of separation 
from service. A mayor or member of a city 
legislative body who has not participated in the 
County Employees Retirement System prior to 
retirement, but who is otherwise eligible to retire 
from the Kentucky Employees Retirement System 
or State Police Retirement System is not required 
to resign from his or her position as mayor or 
member of the city legislative body to begin 
drawing benefits.

No second retirement benefit

Employers are required to pay the 
employer contributions on all 
creditable compensation earned by 
the retiree if they are regular, full‐
time employees and the employer is 
required to reimburse the systems 
for the cost of the health insurance 
premium paid by the systems to 
provide coverage for the retiree.

No

2018 legislation (Senate Bill 151) provides that a KERS/CERS 
Nonhazardous retiree must observe a 3-month break-in-service (1-
month for KERS/CERS Hazardous/SPRS retirees) before becoming 
reemployed with a participating employer in any KRS system. If 3-
month break is observed the member may return to full-time 
employment (with suspension of benefits) or part-time employment 
(with no suspension of benefits); clarifies that no second retirement 
benefit is provided to reemployed retirees; defines full-time service 
as a position that averages 100 days on a calendar or fiscal year 
basis, except for certified and classified school board employees full-
time is more than 100 days per fiscal year (seasonal, interim, and 
temporary remain exempt from FT status); requires employer to 
make normal cost contributions (both pension and retiree health) for 
any reemployed retiree. The law was challenged in court on 
procedural grounds, and in December 2018 the Kentucky Supreme 
Court found the law unconstitutional.  Act No. 25 of 2015 provides 
that elected officials reelected to a new term of office in the same 
position and who then retires prior to taking the new term of office 
shall be deemed to have a prearranged agreement and will have the 
initial retirement voided

Kentucky Kentucky Teachers 
Retirement System Yes Yes

By the definition of ‘employ’ (KRS 
161.220(12)), any relationship which an 
individual provides services to a TRS employer 
as an employee, as an independent contractor, 
as an employer of a third party, or under any 
arrangement as long as the services provided 
would be provided by a position covered by 
TRS. Any retiree or non‐retiree in these 
relationships is required to be a member of TRS

Restrictions range from none, for teachers participating 
in the critical shortage program, to immediate voiding of 
pension benefit.

For some retirees returning to work, 
pension is voided immediately. For others 
in a second account who exceed either a 
salary or days limitation, the members pay 
back from their benefit the equivalent of 
the salary in excess of the days worked or 
salary permitted.

Yes

3 months for employees of local 
school districts, KCTCS technical 
colleges & TRS participating state 
agencies returning to work on a part‐
time or substitute basis, or on a full‐
time basis with a different employer; 
1 year for those returning to work 
with the same employer. 
Alternatively, a retiree may return to 
work after only a 2‐month break in 
service if they agree to forfeit their 
retirement allowance for the 
remainder of the required standard 
break in service.

Statute

Effective 7/1/04, a local school district may 
employ retired members in a limited number of 
full‐time or part‐time teaching or administrative 
positions in which the daily wage threshold will 
not apply. These positions are termed critical 
shortage. Prior to hiring a retiree to fill a critical 
shortage position, the local school superintendent 
must certify that no other qualified applicants are 
available to fill the position. Final approval must 
be made by TRS before employment, and the 
arrangement is subject to recertification annually. 
Statutes limit the number of critical shortage hires 
to the greater of up to 2 members per local school 
district or 1% of the total active members.

There are opportunities for TRS retirees to return 
to work and make contributions to TRS and start a 
second retirement account. For those who return 
to work prior to 7/1/08, the benefit is equal to 2 
percent, if fewer than 10 years of service, or 2.5 
percent, if at least 10 years of service, of their high‐
five average salary for each year of service. Those 
who returned to work after 7/1/08 are eligible for 
a second retirement allowance at age 60 with at 
least 5 years of service, or at age 55 with at least 
10 years of service. For these members the benefit 
is equal to 1.7 percent, if fewer than 10 years of 
service, or 2.0 percent, if at least 10 years of 
service, of their high‐five average salary for each 
year of service.

Local school districts shall make 
annual contributions to the 
retirement system on the 
compensation paid to reemployed 
retirees at the rates determined by 
the retirement system's actuary that 
reflect any accrued liability resulting 
from the reemployment of these 
members.

No

2018 legislation (Senate Bill 151) eliminated the ability to earn a 
second retirement benefit for any member who retires on or after 
1/1/19. The law was challenged in court on procedural grounds, and 
in December 2018 the Kentucky Supreme Court found the law 
unconstitutional. 

Louisiana Louisiana State Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Rules only apply to system participating 
employer

Earnings limitation of 50% of annual retirement benefit 
or benefit suspension; certain exceptions apply

The amount of excess earnings must be 
paid to LASERS

No, subject to IRS restrictions N/A

Exemptions to the earnings limitations are made 
for those who have attained at least age 70 with 
30 years of service credit, and those who have 
been retired for at least one year and are 
appointed by the Secretary of State to fill the 
position of the Commissioner of Elections, and 
those retired at least one year with at least 30 
years of service credit appointed by the Governor 
to an unclassified position

No second retirement benefit None Yes

2002 ‐ H.B. 130 (Act 165) of the First Extraordinary Session of 2002 revised 
statutory provision regarding reemployment after retirement to close a 
loophole that would have allowed any state employee eligible for 
retirement to retire, be re‐hired by the same employer, and after 12 
months receive both full salary and full retirement benefits.

Louisiana Louisiana Teachers 
Retirement System Yes Yes Rules apply to both

Retirees who return to work in a TRSL‐covered position 
are classified as either retired teachers or retired 
members. Retired teachers are subject to a waiting 
period within the first 12‐ or 36‐months of retirement, 
wherein those returning to work within the waiting 
period are subject to a benefit suspension. After the 
waiting period, retired teachers can return to work 
without a benefit suspension if they meet certain criteria 
and/or fill certain designated roles, some of which are 
subject to a 25% earnings limit. All other retirees 
returning to work in a TRSL‐covered position are consider 
retired members and are subject to a benefit suspension 
for the duration of this re‐employment.

Individuals, who are subject to an annual 
earnings limit and who exceed that limit, 
have their benefits reduced by the excess 
amount. Individuals who do not meet 
specific exceptions will have their TRSL 
benefits suspended for the duration of 
their re‐employment in a TRSL‐covered 
position.

Yes

To be considered retired and eligible 
to return to work, a member must 
have a break in service of at least 
one weekday (Monday through 
Friday).

Interpretation of applicable laws

Some retired teachers are subject to a 25% 
earnings limit upon re‐employment, which 
restricts any earnings from such a position in a 
fiscal year to no more than 25% of the retiree’s 
annual retirement benefit. If earnings exceed 25% 
of the retirement benefit, the retiree’s benefit will 
be reduced by the excess amount. A critical 
shortage must exist for certain retirees to be 
classified as a retired teacher. This provision 
stipulates that employers must complete certain 
advertisement requirements before declaring a 
critical shortage and certify the critical shortage to 
TRSL and the state board that oversees elementary 
and secondary education. A qualified retiree can 
be hired as a retired teacher under the critical 
shortage RTW provision if fewer than three 
qualified applicants apply.

Retired teachers accrue no additional retirement 
benefit. Upon terminating re‐employment, a 
retired teacher can apply for a refund of the 
employee contributions made during the re‐
employment period.

Employee and employer 
contributions are required on 
compensation received as a re‐
employed retired teacher, even if 
such service is by contract or 
corporate contract.

Yes

Act 149 of 2015 provided that any member who retired on or before June 
30, 2010 shall have no suspension of benefits during their reemployment 
period following the first 12 months of reemployment regardless of when 
they returned to active service or whether or not their position requires a 
certificate; added school social workers, school counselors, and educational 
diagnosticians to the list of positions exempt from the suspension of 
benefits following the first 12 months of reemployment; clarified 
definitions and requirements for critical shortage positions.

Louisiana
Parochial Employees’ 
Retirement System of 
Louisiana

Yes Yes
Only applies to those reemployed by a system‐
participating employer.

Reemployed retirees are limited to 480 hours per 
calendar year. Those who have been retired for at least 
three years and are at least age 65 may work for 1,040 
hours per calendar year.

Benefit is reduced, dollar for dollar, by 
earnings in excess of the hourly limits.

Yes
The retiree must separate from 
service from the participating 
employer for at least one pay period.

Board policy

Some elected officials (police jurors, councilman, 
constable, or school board member) may work full‐
time without having their benefits offset by their 
salary.

No second retirement benefit

For those who return to part‐time 
employment, no employer and 
employee contributions are 
remitted.

Yes None



Maine Maine Public Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Restrictions apply only to those reemployed by 
a system‐participating employer in a position 
that is a system‐covered position.

Restrictions depend on whether the retiree retired early, 
i.e., prior to reaching normal retirement, or upon 
attainment of normal retirement age. Those who retired 
early may work up to 90 days in one work‐year. Retirees 
from the plan for teachers and state employees who 
have reached normal retirement age may return to work 
for any employer in the plan for up to five years at 75% 
of compensation. Retirees from this plan may 
additionally return to a classroom‐based position in a 
school unit for up to five one‐year contracts at 100% of 
compensation.

When a retiree who has not reached 
normal retirement age violates the 
restrictions, benefits are suspended.

Yes 30 days Statute and MainePERS rule

Retirees from the State and Teacher plan may 
return to a classroom based position in a school 
unit for up to five one‐year contracts at 100% of 
compensation.

No additional creditable service is accrued by a 
retiree who returns to work

The portion of the employer 
contribution that goes to pay the 
retirement system for the unfunded 
liability must continue to be paid to 
the plan.

No

Changes approved by the MainePERS Board in May 2018 require employers 
to make contributions toward the UAL on rehired retirees' salary for new 
rehires effective 7/1/19, and after three years for existing rehires. Public 
Law 486 (2014) eased limitations on the amount of total service and salary 
limitations on retirees who return to work as "classroom‐based 
employees." Chapter 380, Public Laws of 2011 imposes limitations on state 
employees or teachers who are of normal retirement age and retire after 
July 2011, and who return to work in a position covered by the State and 
Teacher plan. These employees may work no more than 5 years and only at 
a salary not more than 75 percent of the salary established for the position 
(this provision exempts substitute teachers).

Maryland Maryland State Retirement 
and Pension System Yes Yes

Rules only apply to a System‐participating 
employer

Retirees who return to work for the same employer (or 
any employer, if retired on early retirement) are subject 
to an earnings limitation. The earnings limitation is equal 
to the difference between a retiree's final average 
compensation and the annualized basic allowance.

Retirement benefit is reduced $1 for every 
$1 earned in excess of the earnings 
limitation.

Yes 45 days Statute

Earnings limitation does not apply to those retired 
under a service or early retirement for at least 5 
years, those with average final compensation less 
than $25,000, certain health care practitioners, 
parole and probation employees, correctional 
officers, teachers and principals reemployed in 
certain public schools or in an area of critical 
shortage.

No second retirement benefit None Yes

Act 189 of 2015 exempts from a certain offset of a retirement allowance 
certain retirees of the TRS or the TPS who are employed in certain positions 
in a local school system or the State School for the Deaf, authorizes local 
school system superintendents and the superintendent of that school to 
employ a certain number of certain retirees who will not be subject to a 
certain offset of a retirement allowance, requires the school to submit 
reports. Chapter 6, Laws of 2011 reduces from nine to five the number of 
years that a retiree of the ERS, EPS, TRS, or TPS must wait in order to be 
exempt from a reemployment earnings limitation if the retiree is hired by 
the individual's last employer prior to retirement. Chapter 698, Laws of 
2010, increases the maximum average final compensation from $10,000 to 
$25,000 that retirees of the Employees Retirement and Pension System 
must have at the time of retirement in order to be exempt from a 
reemployment earnings limitation.

Massachusetts
Massachusetts State 
Employees Retirement 
System

Yes Yes Applies to contract employees also

A working retiree is limited to 960 work hours in a 
calendar year, and salary not to exceed the difference 
between the current salary of the position they retired 
from and their pension (after being retired for a full year 
a retiree can add $15,000 to this calculation).

Any earnings above the limits must be 
paid back.

Yes 30 days System recommended practice

Earnings limits do not apply to elected or 
appointed officials (provided that the position 
they retired from was not an elective office, or at 
least one year has passed since retirement), jury 
duty, services as an election officer, certain paid 
appointive positions, and certain types of 
emergency employment (pending authorization)

None specified Unclear No
Chapter 176, Acts of 2011 increases the maximum allowed earnings for a 
person who returns to covered service after having been retired for at least 
one year by $15,000.

Massachusetts Massachusetts Teachers 
Retirement Board Yes Yes Rules apply to both

A working retiree is limited to 960 work hours in a 
calendar year, and salary not to exceed the difference 
between the current salary of the position they retired 
from and their pension (after being retired for a full year 
a retiree can add $15,000 to this calculation).

Any earnings above the limits must be 
paid back, or if hours are exceeded, the 
retiree should no longer be employed.

Yes
60 days if returning to the same 
employer from which the member 
retired

Statute
Limitations on hours and earnings for 
postretirement employment are waived in the 
event of a “critical shortage”.

None specified Unclear No

Massachusetts. Chapter 176, Acts of 2011 increases the maximum allowed 
earnings for a person who returns to covered service after having been 
retired for at least one year by $15,000. Chapter 14 of the Acts of 2000 
amended existing law to allow retired teachers to return to employment 
without loss of retirement benefits; such a returning teacher does will not 
be considered an active member of the teachers' retirement system and 
will not earn creditable service toward retirement.

Michigan Michigan Office of Retirement 
Systems

Yes for public school 
employees; No for most 
state employees

Yes for public school employees; No 
for most state employees

Rules apply to both
Retirees reemployed in a K‐12 public or charter school 
are subject to an annual earnings limit of 1/3 of their 
final average compensation

For public school retirees, if the earnings 
limit is exceeded, the retiree must forfeit 
both their pension and retiree insurance 
premium subsidy until the month after 
their reemployment ceases

Yes. A bona fide termination must 
exist in both systems.

State law references a requirement 
for public school employees that a 
retiree may be rehired following a 
"bona fide termination of 
employment. A bona fide 
termination includes not working for 
a reporting unit during the 
retirement effective month and not 
having a promise of reemployment 
or a contract for future employment 
in place before collecting a pension. 
Public school employees may not 
work for a reporting unit at all, even 
as a volunteer, during the month in 
which the retirement effective date 
occurs. For state retirees, a bona fide 
termination must exist. That length 
of time is one month.

This time period for public school 
employees is defined by statute. 
State retirees must adhere to the 
rules for bona fide termination as 
promulgated by the Internal Revenue 
Service and administrative rulings.

Any SERS retiree who returns to work must forfeit 
their pension, with the exception of the following: 
retirees who are rehired by the Department of 
Corrections, retirees who are rehired by the 
Department of Natural Resources (DNR) for active 
wildfire suppression, retirees who are rehired by 
the Department of Health and Human Services 
(DHHS) as a Psychiatrist, SERS DC plan 
participants, and those appointed to, or 
contracting with, the Attorney General's Office. 
Retirees reemployed by a Michigan K‐12 public 
school in a designated critical shortage discipline 
are exempt from earnings limitations provided 
certain conditions are met.

No second retirement benefit is provided. Any 
SERS retiree who returns to work becomes a 
participant in the defined contribution plan.

State law directs public school 
employers to pay 100% of the 
contribution rates for the unfunded 
actuarial accrued liability for retiree 
health care and the unfunded 
actuarial accrued liability for pension 
to the retirement system for 
reemployed retirees.

Yes, for State Police officers

Act 75 of 2010 provides that retirees who retire after 7/1/10 and work 
directly for a MPSERS reporting unit, may maintain pension and health 
benefits if they earn less than 1/3 of their final average compensation. If 
they earn more than 1/3 of their final average compensation, their pension 
and health care benefits would be suspended until the employment ends. 
The law directs that the pension and health care benefits be suspended for 
those who retire after 7/1/10 and return to work for a MPSERS reporting 
unit as an independent contractor or through employment with a third 
party. Act 112 of 2013 removes the sunset on hiring retired Department of 
Corrections workers as needed. Act 20 of 2015 allows retired state 
employees to contract as a witness or consultant with the department of 
the attorney general in litigation matters involving this state under certain 
circumstances without losing their retirement allowance. Act 219 of 2016 
requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to compile a listing of 
critical shortage disciplines based on evidence of a shortage for each 
discipline and to post the listing on its website.

Michigan
Municipal Employees 
Retirement System of 
Michigan

Yes Yes Not specified Up to 1,000 hours in a calendar year.

If any of the above criteria are not met, 
retirement payments will be suspended 
until employment is ended. Employee will 
be required to repay any retirement 
payments received and may incur 
significant tax penalties.

Yes

60 days; 2 years separation if 
returning to the same elected 
position (whether elected or 
appointed to that voter‐elected 
position)

Board policy
Hourly limits do not apply to those 
elected/appointed to elective office, or DC plan 
participants.

DC plan participants are re‐enrolled in the DC plan. 
There is no impact on their DC distributions. No 
second retirement benefit for DB plan 
participants.

Not specified No None

Minnesota Minnesota Public Employee 
Retirement Association

Yes, provided the member 
does not have an 
agreement to return 
before termination and 
does not provide services 
to any governmental 
subdivision within the 
state for at least 30 days.

Yes, provided the member does not 
have an agreement to return before 
termination and does not provide 
services to any governmental 
subdivision within the state for at 
least 30 days.

Separation rules apply to those reemployed by 
system‐participating employers, any employer 
that meets the definition of a governmental 
subdivision within the state even if the 
employer participates in another retirement 
system, and to independent contractors (i.e. is 
the independent contractor themselves, or is 
the sole proprietor of an independent 
contractor; a private staffing or placement 
agency would not meet the definition of an 
“independent contractor”). Earnings limits 
upon return only apply to individuals working 
in positions that would otherwise be covered 
by PERA.

A PERA retiree employed in a PERA‐covered position who 
will not reach their full Social Security retirement age this 
year, may earn up to $17,040 before their benefit is 
affected. General plan members age 62 or older who 
participate in the phased retirement program must work 
no more than 25 percent of their full‐time hours, not to 
exceed 1,044 hours per year.

Benefit is reduced $1 for every $2 in 
excess of the earnings limit. The member 
is eligible to receive a lump‐sum of the 
amount withheld one year after the year 
in which the amount was withheld.

Yes 30 days Statute

Retirees who reach full retirement age (as defined 
by Social Security) are exempt from earnings 
limitations, though they are not exempt from the 
separation/break‐in‐service requirements. 
Members who participate in the PRO are exempt 
from the separation/break‐in‐service requirements 
and the earnings limitations.

None None No None

Minnesota Minnesota State Retirement 
System Yes Yes

The post‐employment rules apply to those 
reemployed by a system‐participating 
employer. If the employer were paying the 
staffing agency and not the employee, the 
employee would not be subject to the post‐
retirement employment rules at this time.

Reemployed retirees are subject to an earnings 
limitation. The maximum earned for 2018 is $17,040. For 
those reaching full Social Security age in 2018, the limit 
on the earnings for the months before full retirement age 
is $45,360. (Amounts adjusted annually thereafter.) No 
limit on those above social security retirement age.

Monthly benefit is suspended for the 
remainder of the calendar year, and the 
member may request reimbursement of 
the suspended payment after termination 
of re‐employment.

Yes 30 days Statute
Retirees above the Social Security full retirement 
age are not subject to the earnings limit

No second retirement benefit
No employee or employer 
contributions

No

Laws 2005, Chapter 156, Article 3, Section 3 (The Omnibus State 
Government Finance Bill) allows employees who meet the definition of full 
retirement (Rule of 90 or age 65, or up to age 66 for employees hired after 
July 1, 1989), to receive their monthly retirement annuity and work half 
time or less. To use this provision, employees must terminate service. 
Employee would no longer contribute to a MSRS retirement plan, would 
not be subject to the reemployed annuitant earnings limit of $12,000 for 
2005 (the same amount used by Social Security), would not be included in 
the active employee health insurance pool, but would have money 
deposited in a Reimbursement Account (HRA) calculated on the percentage 
of time worked and the amount of full employer contribution for 
"employee only" health and dental coverage. HRA could be used for 
premiums or other medical expenses. Employees would participate in the 
retiree health insurance pool. Employees would receive any applicable 
severance pay at the time they retire from their regular position. Post 
retirement employment would be offered to the employee on an annual 
basis, and could be renewed for up to five years.



Minnesota Minnesota Teachers 
Retirement Association Yes Yes Rules apply to both

An annual salary limitation, using a 7/1 to 6/30 fiscal 
year, is in place. Retirees under normal retirement age 
(as determined by Social Security) for the entire fiscal 
year, have an earnings limitation is $46,000. Retirees 
who are under normal retirement age and are retired for 
only a portion of the year, have their earnings limitation 
prorated ($46,000 x number of months retired during the 
fiscal year ÷ 12). Retirees who have reached Social 
Security full retirement age are not subject to the 
earnings limitation. In the fiscal year that a retiree 
reaches normal retirement age, they may earn $46,000 
between July 1 through the month prior to reaching full 
retirement age; upon reaching the month of normal 
retirement age, the retiree is no longer subject to any 
limitation.

Beginning in January of the next year, 
benefit payments stop or are reduced until 
the entire offset amount is put into an 
earnings limitation savings account (ELSA). 
The member's annuity payment is reduced 
by $1 in for each $2 above the limit. 
Retirees with an ELSA account may apply 
to receive those assets beginning one year 
after the last deferred amount was 
redirected to their account. No interest is 
earned on account balances.

Yes

An employing unit may require up to 
a one‐year notice of intent to enter 
into a return‐to‐work agreement, 
which is available to teachers aged 
62 and older

Statute

Teachers aged 62 and older may begin receiving 
their retirement benefit and enter into an 
agreement to return to work. Such an agreement 
must be mutually approved, and specify a date of 
termination and reemployment. Statute specifies 
that this provision must be administered in 
accordance with federal IRC and applicable rulings. 
This provision does not apply to members 
employed by the Minnesota State Colleges and 
Universities (MnSCU) system.

Members age 62 and older who return to work 
will not earn additional service credit with TRA

None No None

Mississippi Mississippi Public Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

The conditions also apply to any service retiree 
who returns to work with a state agency as a 
contract worker. Limitations may not be 
circumvented by contracting to perform 
services through a third party (i.e., a placement 
or temporary employment agency). If the 
retiree is performing services with a covered 
employer as an employee, the reemployment 
limitations will apply whether the retiree has 
been reemployed directly with a covered 
employer or through a third party. The 
conditions do not apply to those deemed to be 
true independent contractors.

Reemployed retirees may work for a period of time not 
to exceed one half of the normal working days or hours 
for the position in any fiscal year during which the retiree 
will receive no more than one half of the salary in effect 
for the position at the time of employment or worked 
long enough in any fiscal year to earn no more than 25 
percent of his or her average compensation that was 
used in the calculation of his or her benefit.

Violation of the postretirement 
employment restrictions results in 
suspension of an individual's retirement 
benefit and demand for the return of any 
benefits paid in error.

Yes

90 days (after the beginning of the 
next school year, if retired from and 
returning to a covered educational 
institution)

Statute

Those who meet the criteria of a true independent 
contractor as determined by PERS may become 
reemployed outside the noted limited 
reemployment conditions. Members serving in 
municipal or county elected office who decide to 
retire may continue in office at retirement without 
the required 90‐day break in service provided they 
have reached age 62.

People who return to covered employment while 
receiving a retirement benefit are not eligible to 
earn additional service credit while so employed.

The employer shall pay to the board 
the full amount of the employer's 
contribution on the amount of 
compensation received by the retiree 
for his or her employment in 
accordance with regulations 
prescribed by the board.

No

Chapter 546, Laws of 2010 provides that no one who is being paid a 
retirement allowance or a pension after retirement can be employed or 
paid for any service by the State of Mississippi, including services as an 
employee, contract worker, contractual employee or independent 
contractor, until the retired person has been retired for 90 consecutive 
days from the effective date of retirement. Thereafter the person may be 
reemployed while being paid a retirement allowance. Employers are to 
make the full employer contribution for the person who is re‐employed. 
People who return to covered employment while receiving a retirement 
benefit are not eligible to earn additional service credit while so employed.

Missouri Missouri Public Schools 
Retirement System Yes Yes Rules apply to both

Retirees may work on a part‐time basis or as a temporary‐
substitute for a PSRS‐covered employer in any position 
for a maximum of 550 hours each school year (July 1 ‐ 
June 30). Within the 550 hours, retirees may earn up to 
50% of the annual compensation payable under the 
employer's salary schedule for the position or positions, 
given their level of work experience and education.

Retirees forfeit their benefit effective the 
month in which either the hourly or salary 
limit is exceeded, whichever is first. 
Benefits resume the month after 
employment ends or when a new school 
year begins on July 1.

Yes One month Board regulation

Those who work after retirement for a PSRS/PEERS‐
covered employer that has declared a critical 
shortage of certificated employees may teach full‐
time for up to two years without losing 
PSRS/PEERS benefits. The two years do not have to 
be consecutive. No member contributions are 
required and no service is earned working under 
this provision. An employer may hire up to 10% of 
the certificated staff, not to exceed five retirees, 
to teach under this provision. Critical shortage 
requirements are described here: 
https://www.psrs‐peers.org/Employers/Working‐
after‐Retirement/Critical‐Shortage

No None No

Missouri Missouri State Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Only to those reemployed by a system 
participating employer

A "benefit‐eligible" position is defined as a position that 
requires the performance of duties at least 1,040 hours 
per year. Benefit will be frozen if employed in a “benefit‐
eligible” position.

Monthly retirement benefit from MOSERS 
stops for any month during which a retiree 
is actively employed in a "benefit‐eligible" 
position.

Yes At least one calendar month Implicit in statute
A retiree may work as much as they want for any 
employer other than the State of Missouri while 
continuing to receive their MOSERS benefit.

No None Closed to new employees in 2011 None

Missouri
Missouri Local Govt. 
Employees Retirement 
System

Yes Yes

Retirees may re‐employ within the LAGERS 
system in a covered position only with an 
employer from which they are not receiving a 
benefit. Employment with a private employer 
that is providing services to a system‐
participating entity is not considered a covered 
position.

Retirees may be re‐employed with an employer from 
which she is drawing a benefit for a period less than the 
"Annual Hours Required for Coverage" that is elected by 
each employer, so that the retiree is not eligible to 
receive an additional retirement benefit from the same 
employer. Retirees may be re‐employed full time for a 
different LAGERS employer from which she or he is 
receiving a benefit.

A retiree's benefit will be suspended if she 
or he re‐employs full‐time with an 
employer from which he or she is currently 
receiving a benefit. According to state law, 
a LAGERS member may not be earning a 
benefit from the same employer from 
which he or she is currently drawing a 
benefit. If this were to happen, the 
monthly benefit would be suspended and 
the retiree would again become an active 
member of LAGERS; once the retiree has 
been re‐employed for 12 consecutive 
months, he or she would be re‐vested and 
eligible for an additional monthly benefit 
upon his second retirement. Upon the 
second retirement, the first benefit would 
also be reinstated.

Yes One month Administrative Rule None

Once the retiree has been re‐employed for 12 
consecutive months, he or she would be vested 
and eligible for an additional monthly benefit 
upon the second retirement.

Member and employer contributions 
are required for retirees who return 
to work in a covered position with 
any participating political 
subdivision.

No None

Missouri
MoDOT & Highway Patrol 
Employees’ Retirement 
System

Yes Yes
Only applies to those reemployed by a system 
participating employer.

A "benefit‐eligible" position is defined as a position that 
requires the performance of duties at least 1,040 hours 
per year.

Monthly retirement benefit from MPERS 
stops for any month during which a retiree 
is actively employed in a "benefit‐eligible" 
position.

Yes At least one calendar month
A retiree may work as much as they want for any 
employer other than the State of Missouri while 
continuing to receive their MPERS benefit.

No None Yes None

Montana Montana Public Employees 
Retirement Board Yes Yes

The post‐retirement rules also apply to retirees 
working for the benefit of a system covered 
employer through a private staffing or 
placement agency as an independent 
contractor.

For PERS members under age 65 may work in PERS‐
covered employment up to 960 hours annually. PERS 
members age 65 to 70 1/2 are limited to either 960 
hours or an earnings limitation, whichever is higher. The 
earning limitation is equal to the highest average 
compensation, adjusted for inflation. The sum of the 
retiree's retirement benefit and all PERS‐associated 
earnings must be less than the earnings limitations (HAC 
adjusted for inflation). Earnings from other sources do 
not apply to the limit. Both limits apply to a single 
calendar year and we only reduce benefits for those 
years that your hours or earnings exceed the limit. There 
are no limits restricting the earnings or hours of retired 
members above age 70 1/2.

Consequences depend on the age of the 
retiree: For PERS members under age 65, 
benefit is reduced one dollar for each 
dollar earned from PERS‐covered 
employment when the retiree exceeds 960 
hours worked for a PERS‐covered 
employer in a calendar year. For PERS 
members age 65 to 70 1/2, benefit is 
reduced dollar for each dollar earned from 
employment exceeding either the 960 
hour limitation or an earnings limitation, 
whichever is higher, in a calendar year.

Yes 90 days Statute

Working retirees between age 65 and 70.5 are 
subject to the greater of the hours or earnings 
limitation. Working retirees above age 70.5 are 
exempt from both the hours and earnings 
limitations.

No
Employers are required to contribute 
at the regular rate

Yes ‐ for MPORS and HPORS

HB 95 of 2013 requires employers to make contributions on working 
retirees' compensation HB 101 of 2017 clarified that compensation for a 
retiree returning as an independent contractor for a PERS covered 
employer for purposes of the earnings limitation does not include any 
additional payment for overhead costs or costs not directly related to work 
performed on behalf of the employer.

Montana Montana Teachers Retirement 
System Yes Yes Rules apply to both

Rehired annuitants are subject to an earnings limitation 
equal to the greater of 1/3 the sum of their average final 
compensation, plus annual increases equal to the 
increase in CPI, or 1/3 of the median AFC for members 
retired during the preceding fiscal year as determined by 
the TRS Board.

If the earnings limitation is exceeded, 
benefits are reduced $1 for $1 over the 
limitation. If/when the amounts earned by 
a reemployed annuitant exceed 
postretirement earnings limitation plus 
one gross monthly benefit amount, 
benefits are suspended.

Yes 150 days No special provisions or exemptions noted No second retirement benefit
No employee contributions are 
required; employers must contribute

No

Chapter 238, Laws of 2013 (MT H 78), clarifies break‐in service 
requirements for postretirement employment and limitations under the 
Teachers' Retirement System, relates to public officers and employees; Act 
No. 189 of 2015 Repeals the termination of a provision allowing certain 
retired teachers, specialists, and administrators under the Teachers' 
Retirement System to be reemployed in certain circumstances without 
being subject to the standard limitations, provides an immediate effective 
date. HB 178 (2003) allows retired teachers and other educational 
specialists to return to K‐12 and certain educational institutions for one 
year without loss of retirement benefits from the Montana Teachers 
Retirement System. Restrictions include a school's demonstration that 
there was no other applicant for a vacancy or that no one else would 
accept an offer of employment. Employers must make employer 
contributions on the salary of the rehired person. The conditions must be 
met again for any subsequent year of employment.

Nebraska Nebraska Retirement Systems Yes Yes
Rules extend to all service provided to a 
participating employer including a private 
staffing or placement agency.

None N/A Yes
120 days (180 days for school 
employees)

Statute None specified

State and county employees who return to work at 
age 55 or older are automatically vested in a new 
cash balance account. School employees and state 
troopers who retire and return to work are treated 
as new members, and a second retirement benefit 
is provided based on the postretirement service.

Same as new employees, regular 
employee and employer 
contributions are required.

Yes ‐ for State Patrol State Patrol DROP discontinued for new members



Nevada Nevada Public Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes Rules also apply to independent contractors

Re‐employed retirees may work for a public employer in 
Nevada that is eligible for membership for less than half 
time, and for a salary that is up to 50% of the average 
salary for regular members without forfeiting their 
retirement benefit.

Violating the return‐to‐work restrictions 
results in the forfeiture of retirement 
benefits, and the retiree may choose to re‐
enroll as a contributing member of NV 
PERS.

Yes 90 days Statute

Retired employees who are reemployed by a 
Nevada public employer in a position for which 
there is a critical labor shortage may be exempt 
from any reemployment restrictions if they are 
receiving a benefit that is not reduced for early 
retirement or if at the time of reemployment they 
have reached the required age to receive an 
unreduced benefit. This applies only to positions 
that have been approved by the governing 
authority of the public employer as “critical labor 
shortage” positions, and which must be recertified 
every two years as a critical labor shortage.

No additional service credit is accrued
None, unless re‐enrolled under 
critical labor shortage

No None

New Hampshire New Hampshire Retirement 
System

Yes, either in a part‐time 
capacity or in a full‐time 
position in which 
membership in the 
retirement system is 
optional.

Yes, either in a part‐time capacity or 
in a full‐time position in which 
membership in the retirement 
system is optional.

Laws do not apply in a true independent 
contractor relationship.

NHRS retirees who take a part‐time position with one or 
more retirement system participating employers after 
1/1/19 are allowed to work a maximum of 1,352 hours 
per calendar year. There is a “grandfathering” provision 
that allows retirees who are already working part‐time 
for NHRS participating employers on the effective date of 
the law (1/1/9) to work a maximum of 1,664 hours per 
calendar year for as long as they remain in the positions 
they held on the effective date. (Note: NHRS does not 
offer a DROP or phased retirement program.)

A retiree who exceeds the maximum 
permitted hours will forfeit the state 
annuity portion of his or her retirement 
allowance, and any allocable cost of living 
adjustments, with the forfeiture 
commencing as soon as administratively 
feasible in the next calendar year and 
continuing for 12 months. On average, the 
state annuity portion provides about half 
of a retiree’s total pension benefit, 
although it can be more or less for specific 
individuals.

Yes
28 days from the effective date of 
retirement, which is always the first 
of a month

Statute. NH RSA 100‐A:7‐b

(1) Hours worked while providing assistance 
during an emergency, as declared by the governor 
or while working under the direction of the 
director of the division of forests and lands during 
woodland fire control do not count against the 
annual limit on hours worked. (2) Employees who 
work for the Legislature, certain elected officials, 
and officials appointed for a fixed term to a Group 
I Employee position may work full‐time while 
continuing to receive their retirement benefit. 
Membership for these position is optional in 
statute. (3) Per diem court security officers and 
court bailiffs are exempt from the part‐time 
provisions per statute.

None None No

Chapter 251, Laws of 2013 requires employers to report monthly to the 
NHRS information regarding NHRS retirees on their payroll, including hours 
worked and compensation paid. Chapter 183, Laws of 2014, exempts 
reporting hours and compensation for retirees serving as elected officials 
for the state or a political subdivision, and also created an employer 
penalty for late or incorrect reporting of retiree data. Chapter 110, Laws of 
2016, clarifies that employers do not have to report hour and 
compensation data for retirees serving as an elected official of a political 
subdivision in a Group II (Police and Fire) position. Chapter 293, Laws of 
2018. NHRS retirees who take a part‐time position with one or more 
retirement system participating employers after the effective date of the 
bill (1/1/19) are allowed to work a maximum of 1,352 hours per calendar 
year.

New Jersey New Jersey Division of 
Pension and Benefits Yes Yes Rules apply to both No limitations on hours or earnings

If reemployed within 180 days of 
retirement, a retiree may need to repay all 
retirement benefits received and re‐enroll 
in the same or a different retirement 
system as of the date of reemployment.

Yes
180 days if rehired by the same 
employer

Division Policy

(1) The 180‐day requirement does not apply to 
individuals who were required to retire under the 
age‐related mandatory retirement provisions of 
the pension statutes relative to PFRS, SPRS, or JRS. 
In these situations, the age‐related mandatory 
retirement is considered a bona fide severance of 
employment. (2) New Jersey statutes provide an 
exemption from pension re‐enrollment for certain 
retirees of the TPAF or PERS who are certificated 
superintendents or certificated administrators, 
and who are hired by the Department of 
Education or a local board of education in a 
position of critical need.

No None No
NJ A 3346 (2015) allows reemployment by school districts of Teachers' 
Pension and Annuity Fund retirees as coaches of athletic activities when 
compensation is under $15,000.

New Mexico New Mexico Educational 
Retirement Board Yes Yes

Rules extend to those working for the benefit 
of an employer through a private staffing or 
placement agency

Greater of 0.25 FTE or $15,000 RTW Exception
Those who do not apply or qualify for the RTW 
program may earn only the greater of $15,000 
annually or an amount equal  to 0.25 percent of the 
salary for the full-time equivalency of the job they are 
hired to without affecting their retirement benefit.

An individual who returns to work under 
the Greater of 0.25 FTE or $15,000 RTW 
Exception and earns more than allowed 
will lose their retirement status and forfeit 
retirement benefits effective on the first 
day of the month in which they are in 
violation. 

Yes 12 consecutive months

During the break in service period, a retiree may 
work for non ERB covered employers, including 
employers covered by the NM PERA unless they 
are a licensed educator working in a position that 
required such a license for a NM agency that has 
an educational program (ie: Department of 
Corrections, Public Education Department, 
Department of Health, Division of Vocational 
Rehabilitation, and Educational Retirement 
Board.)

No service credit can be earned, purchased, or 
otherwise credited for any of the time that the 
retiree is reemployed.

Rehired retirees shall make non‐
refundable contributions to ERB, and 
the employer will continue to make 
contributions specified in statute.

No

Act 258 of 2019 requires that effective 7/1/19, all ERB retirees who 
wish to return to work must complete a RTW application. Previous 
law permitted some re-employed retirees to return to work without 
submitting a RTW application, as long as their earnings remained 
below the greater of $15,000 or 0.25 percent of the salary for the full-
time equivalency of the job they were rehired to. Effective 7/1/20 all 
RTW retirees and their employers must make contributions, even if 
they are working 0.25 percent of full-time equivalent or less.

Chapter No. 2011-6, Laws of 2011 requires retired teachers who 
return to employment covered by the Education Retirement 
Association (ERA) member to pay the same amount of member 
contributions as active employees, and removes the requirement for 
employers to pay both the employer and employee contributions to 
the ERA fund. Under previous law, the employer pays 100 percent of 
employee contributions for return-to-work employees, as well as the 
employer contribution.

New Mexico New Mexico Public Employees 
Retirement Association Yes

No. Effective July 1, 2010, the 
pension of a retiree who returns to 
work for a PERA affiliate is 
suspended.

N/A N/A Yes 12 months Statute No specific provisions or exemptions
No additional benefit is provided unless the retiree 
elects to rejoin PERA

No contributions are required unless 
the retiree elects to rejoin PERA

No

Chapter 18, Laws of 2010 extended the period before a retired person can 
return to covered employment from 90 days to 12 months, and provided 
such retirees with two options: 1) suspend their pension, choose not to 
contribute to PERA, and not earn service credit for the period of 
reemployment or 2) suspend their pension, rejoin PERA, accrue additional 
service credit and be eligible to have their pension recalculated when the 
period of reemployment ends. RTW employees in the program as of 7/1/10 
are grandfathered under the old RTW provisions.

New York New York State and Local 
Retirement Systems Yes Yes

Rules apply also to those working for the 
benefit of an employer through a private 
staffing or placement agency.

Calendar year earnings limit of $35,000, Retirement & 
Social Security Law (RSSL) Section 212.

If the earnings limit is exceeded, the 
retiree may be required to repay NYSLRS 
one day of their retirement benefit for 
each day they work beyond the limit.

Depends on the circumstances of 
reemployment

The retiree cannot work on their 
date of retirement; Under Section 
211, a retired public employee is 
prevented from working in the same 
or similar position for one year from 
the retiree’s date of retirement from 
a New York State public retirement 
system.

State law

If a retiree is going to exceed the Section 212 limit, 
they may apply for a waiver from the entity with 
jurisdiction over their post‐retirement 
employment and work under Retirement and 
Social Security Law Section 211. Waivers are 
generally limited to one year.

No second retirement benefit
No employee or employer 
contributions

No

Chapter 640 of the Laws of 2008 strengthened the transparency and 
accountability measures relative to employee post‐retirement hiring and 
reporting. Chapter 74, Laws of 2006 increased the Section 212 earnings 
limit to $30,000, from $27,500 for 2005 and 2006

New York New York State Teachers 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Rules also apply to consultants and those 
working for a third‐party employer

Calendar year earnings limit of $35,000, Retirement & 
Social Security Law (RSSL) Section 212.

If the earnings limit is exceeded, the 
retiree may be required to repay NYSTRS 
one day of their retirement benefit for 
each day they work beyond the limit.

Depends on the circumstances of 
reemployment

The retiree cannot work on their 
date of retirement; Under Section 
211, a retired public employee is 
prevented from working in the same 
or similar position for one year from 
the retiree’s date of retirement from 
a New York State public retirement 
system.

State law

If a retiree is going to exceed the Section 212 limit, 
they may apply for a waiver from the entity with 
jurisdiction over their post‐retirement 
employment and work under Retirement and 
Social Security Law Section 211. Waivers are 
generally limited to one year.

No second retirement benefit
No employee or employer 
contributions

No

Chapter 589 of the Laws of 2019 increased the Section 212 earnings limit 
for reemployed retirees to $35,000, from $30,000, effective 2020 and 
thereafter.

Chapter 640 of the Laws of 2008 strengthened the transparency and 
accountability measures relative to employee post‐retirement hiring and 
reporting. Chapter 74, Laws of 2006 increased the Section 212 earnings 
limit to $30,000, from $27,500 for 2005 and 2006

North Carolina North Carolina Retirement 
Systems Yes Yes

Annual salary limit of the greater of $32,940 (in 2018), or 
50 percent of gross 12‐month pre‐retirement salary

If annual earnings limit is exceeded, 
retirement benefit is suspended the first 
day of the month following the month in 
which the retiree exceeded the limit for 
the remainder of the calendar year. 
Retirement payment begins again on 
January 1 of the year after benefit is 
suspended.

Yes
6 months (teachers and state 
employees); 1 month (local 
government employees)

Working as a member of a school board, board of 
trustees of a community college, board of trustees 
of any constituent institution of The University of 
North Carolina, as an unpaid bona fide volunteer 
in a local school administrative unit, or as an 
unpaid bona fide volunteer guardian ad litem in 
the guardian ad litem program shall not be 
considered service or work, and volunteering in 
positions normally designated as unpaid bona fide 
volunteer positions during the six months 
immediately following the effective date of 
retirement shall not be considered service.

No second retirement benefit

No employee contributions; 
employers are required to report all 
rehired retirees to the Retirement 
Services Division each month, but it 
is unclear whether or not employer 
contributions are required

No None

North Dakota
North Dakota Public 
Employees Retirement 
System

Yes Yes System only

Employment must be limited to less than 20 hours per 
week if employed 20 weeks or more months per year. A 
retiree may work more than 20 hours per week if 
employed less than 20 weeks per year.

Benefit is suspended Yes 31 days Administrative Code None specified No second retirement benefit
No employee or employer 
contributions are required

No

HB 1266 allowed retired members of the ND Public Employees Retirement 
System who retired at or after the full retirement age to return to covered 
employment with a different employer and waive future participation in 
the retirement system and retiree health system, while retaining their 
benefits. The "different employer" provision means that a state employee 
cannot take advantage of this provision if returning to state employment, 
but may take employment in a political subdivision. Former employees of a 
political subdivision may move to state employment or employment in a 
political subdivision different from the one from which the employee 
retired.



North Dakota North Dakota Teachers Fund 
for Retirement Yes Yes

Rules apply to retirees who return to covered 
employment. This includes retirees who are 
employed by a system participating employer, 
but does not include those who are employed 
through a private staffing/placement agency. 
Also, rules do not apply to non‐contracted 
substitute teaching.

Maximum number of hours permitted to work annually, 
depending on the length of the contract (9 to 12 
months). Retirees with a nine‐month contract may work 
up to 700 hours, up to those with a 12‐month contract, 
who may work up to 1000 hours. Retirees staying under 
the limits may continue receiving their retirement 
benefit, but employee and employer retirement 
contributions must be paid on teaching salary. In 
addition, retirees may return to work up to full time in an 
approved Critical Shortage area and may continue 
receiving their retirement benefit. Employee and 
employer retirement contributions must be paid.

An employee who exceeds the annual 
hours limit will have their retirement 
benefit suspended. Upon termination of 
employment, the retiree's benefit is either 
reinstated or recalculated to include the 
additional service credit, less an actuarial 
offset for benefits already paid in some 
instances.

Yes

30 days waiting period if returning to 
covered employment under the 
annual hours limit. 1 year waiting 
period if returning to covered 
employment full time under the 
critical shortage area exception.

Statute

A one‐year waiting period is required for critical 
shortage positions (as determined annually by the 
Education Standards and Practices Board. The 
length of employment in a critical shortage 
position is dependent upon annual approval and 
verification of critical shortage area.

None if under annual hours limit or critical 
shortage area exception. Additional service credit 
may be earned and benefit recalculated in certain 
instances after a retirement benefit is suspended.

Employee and employer 
contributions are required on all 
salary earned by retirees.

No None

Ohio Ohio State Teachers 
Retirement System Yes Yes

The retiree must be employed in a position that 
requires membership in an Ohio public 
retirement system.

None specified N/A Yes

1 day minimum; However, those 
who return to work with either their 
primary employer or a new employer 
within the first two months of 
retirement will forfeit their 
retirement benefits for the months 
worked.

Statute None specified

Post‐re‐employment contributions fund a lump‐
sum benefit payment which is provided either 
after the last day of service or 12 months after the 
last payment of a previous reemployed retiree 
benefit payment, whichever is later.

Both employer and employee 
contributions continue. As of July 1, 
2013, no employer contributions are 
provided upon termination of 
employment (phased out starting in 
2005).

No No

Ohio Ohio Public Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Yes ‐ only applies if the re‐employment is with 
a public employer (not a private employer)

None N/A Yes
60 days (applies to all Ohio public 
retirees)

Statute

(1) Retirees who return to OPERS‐covered 
employment as an elected official are subject to 
the same policies as other re‐employed retirees, 
unless they contributed to Social Security for the 
elective service. In this case, they are not 
considered OPERS re‐employed retirees for 
subsequent service as an elected official (with an 
exception for an elected official who retires during 
a term of office and is re‐appointed to the position 
during the same term or is elected to the position 
in the next consecutive term). (2) OPERS retirees 
who become re‐employed on a full‐time basis by a 
public university or college have the option of 
participating in OPERS and contributing toward a 
Money Purchase Plan account or they may be 
eligible to participate in an Alternative Retirement 
Plan (ARP). (3) a retiree being re‐employed in the 
same Ohio PERS‐covered position that is 
customarily filled by a vote of members of a board 
or commission or by the legislative authority of a 
county, municipal corporation or township is 
subject to special notice and a hearing. (4) Those 
retired on disability are not eligible to become 
reemployed.

Re‐employed retirees contribute toward a Money 
Purchase Plan account. After termination of re‐
employment a Money Purchase Plan account is 
available as either a refund of contributions prior 
to age 65 or a lump sum payment or annuity 
benefit at age 65 or after.

Employee and employer 
contributions must begin from the 
first day of re‐employment. 
However, contributions remitted 
during the first two months after 
retirement will not be included in 
the calculation of the Money 
Purchase Plan benefit and will be 
refunded to the retiree upon 
termination of reemployment.

No None

Ohio Ohio Police & Fire Pension 
Fund Yes Yes Not specified No limitation on hours or earnings while reemployed N/A Yes

60 days (applies to all Ohio public 
retirees)

Statute No

Reemployed retirees do not receive a traditional 
retirement benefit and are not eligible to apply for 
disability. Rather, they are eligible for defined 
contribution plan benefits based on 2x their 
contributions, plus interest, or a monthly annuity, 
if age 60, or a lump sum payment of their 
postretirement employee contributions, plus 
interest, if not age 60.

Employee contributes at same rate 
as pre‐retirement. Employer 
contributes at 19.5% for police 
officers and 24% for firefighters.

Yes None

Ohio School Employees Retirement 
System of Ohio Yes Yes Unclear None N/A Yes

60 days (applies to all Ohio public 
retirees)

Statute

(1) A retiree being re‐employed in the same Ohio 
SERS‐covered position that is customarily filled by 
a vote of members of a board or commission or by 
the legislative authority of a county, municipal 
corporation or township is subject to special 
notice and a hearing. (2) Those retired on 
disability are not eligible to become reemployed.

A rehired retiree who has attained at least age 65 
will accumulate a new benefit that will be paid as 
a single life annuity or a lump sum. Reemployed 
retirees under the age of 65 can refund their 
contributions upon termination of employment.

Employee and employer 
contributions are required

No None

Oklahoma Oklahoma Public Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes Rules apply to both

OPERS retirees who return to work are subject to federal 
earnings limitations depending on their age. For 2018, if 
an OPERS retiree will remain below the SSA full 
retirement age for the entire 2018 calendar year, their 
federal earnings limit is $17,040. If an OPERS retiree will 
reach their full SSA retirement age in 2018, their 
earnings limit is $45,360 up to the date they reach full 
retirement age.

When a retiree’s salary exceeds the 
allowable amount, benefits will not be 
paid for the remainder of that calendar 
year or until employment terminates, 
should termination occur before the end 
of the calendar year.

Yes
1 year if returning to work for the 
same participating employer

Statute

Each month a retiree works for a participating 
OPERS employer and contributes to OPERS, the 
retiree accrues post‐retirement service credit. 
Benefits are increased in January of each year for 
those retirees who have accrued 12 months of 
service (2,076 hours) as of June 30 of the previous 
calendar year. Any hours which exceed 12 months 
will be retained in their record to be added to 
future post‐retirement credit. Increased benefits 
are based upon the actual compensation earned 
and actual hours accrued with the participating 
employer during post‐retirement employment.

Employee and employer 
contributions are required

No None

Oklahoma Oklahoma Teachers 
Retirement System Yes Yes

Employment normally performed in an 
employee/employer relationship counts toward 
a retiree's earnings limit regardless of whether 
the services are performed as an individual, 
independent contractor, limited partnership, 
corporation or any other relationship. Income 
from working as a consultant for a public 
school is exempt from the TRS earnings limit. 
However, consulting contracts must meet the 
strict requirements of state law.

Retirees age 61 or younger and who have been retired 
less than 36 months have an earnings limit of the lesser 
of one‐half of final average salary used to calculate 
monthly retirement benefit, or $15,000. Retirees age 62 
or older and who have been retired less than 36 months 
have an earnings limit of the lesser of one‐half of the 
final average salary used to calculate monthly retirement 
benefit, or $30,000. For those who have been retired for 
more than 36 months, there is no limit on earnings.

If annual income from covered 
employment exceeds earnings limit, 
monthly benefits are reduced or any 
overpayment of retirement benefits must 
be paid.

Yes 60 days Statute

2017 legislation provides for a three‐year 
exemption from the earnings limitation for those 
who have been retired as active classroom 
teachers for one year as of 7/1/17, and who have 
not been reemployed as an active classroom 
teacher at any point during the year.

No
Employers are required to pay the 
regular member and employer rate 
on behalf of reemployed retirees.

No

Act 270 of 2017 establishes an exemption from the earnings limitation for 
a period of three years beginning July 1, 2017, for those who have been 
retired as active classroom teachers for one year as of that date, and who 
have not been reemployed as an active classroom teacher at any point 
during that year. Members returning to work under this law will not be 
subject to any earnings limitation following the end of the three‐year 
period. Act 47 of 2015 increases the number of semester hours, from six to 
twelve, that an institution in the Oklahoma State System of Higher 
Education may enter into a contract with a person who has retired from an 
institution for a part‐time teaching or research position, and clarified that 
those rehired under these circumstances are subject to the earnings 
limitation specified in state law.

Oregon Oregon Public Employees 
Retirement System Yes Yes Not specified

1040 hours/calendar year for Tier One/Tier Two retired 
members. For those in OPSRP,the limit is 600 
hours/calendar year, and you are considered a 
“qualifying position” if your employer reports the 
position as “qualifying,” based upon hire intent, OR, if 
you work a total of 600 hours or more in a calendar year 
for one or more participating employers (regardless of 
hire intent). Hours worked with all participating 
employers in a calendar year count toward the 600‐hour 
limitation.

PERS benefits cease and the retiree is 
restored to active membership. No 
repayment of retirement benefits paid 
prior to exceeding 1,040 hours is required 
unless the individual was retired for less 
than six calendar months prior to 
reestablishing active membership (for Tier 
One/Two members). If retired for less than 
six months, repayment of all benefits 
received is required.

Not unless the retired member is 
seeking to return to employment 
under one of the exceptions 
provided in statute.

When specified, six months. Statute

There are several exceptions to the 1,040 hour 
limit, which depend on date of hire (tier) and 
whether or not a reemployed retiree retired under 
normal retirement or early retirement provisions. 
The exceptions are identified here: 
http://www.oregon.gov/pers/RET/Pages/General‐
Information/Table‐of‐Exceptions‐to‐the‐1%2c040‐
Hour‐Limit.aspx

No new benefits are accrued Not specified No

Act 6 of 2016 exempts PERS retirees from limitations on reemployment if 
reemployed by a school district or education service district to provide 
services as a speech language pathologist or speech language pathology 
assistant. Act 475 of 2015 permits certain PERS retirees to be employed by 
school district or education service districts as teachers of career and 
technical education without loss of retirement benefits. Act 108 of 2015 
extends sunset on provisions allowing PERS retirees to be employed full‐
time by a public employer as a nursing instructor or as a trainer for 
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training without loss of 
retirement benefits.



Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Public School 
Employees Retirement 
System

Yes Yes Evaluated on an individual basis

Retirees are permitted to work for a system employer 
only under designated circumstances, including: 1) if no 
other appropriate certified teachers or other personnel 
are available within the required subject or work area; 2) 
in an extracurricular position, provided the employment 
is performed primarily outside regular instructional 
hours, and is not part of the mandated educational 
curriculum; 3) or in a community college, state‐related or 
state owned universities under certain conditions.

If retiree returns to active status, annuity 
is frozen, employee makes contributions 
and begins to accrue retirement service 
credit until employment ceases.

Yes

There must be a bone fide break in 
service. A break in service occurs 
when a member terminates service 
from all public school employers.

Statute

Exceptions are made for those reemployed in an 
"extracurricular" position, as an independent 
contractor or by a third‐party employer. 
Additionally, a retiree who becomes employed by 
any of the state’s community colleges, Penn State 
University, or the 14 state‐owned universities 
following retirement may be eligible to elect 
membership into an alternate retirement plan 
without a suspension of PSERS annuity payments.

No, unless reemployed by a college or university 
employer and electing to participate in the 
Alternate Retirement Plan.

None No None

Pennsylvania Pennsylvania State Employees 
Retirement System Yes

Yes; however, monthly pension 
payments must stop (also applies to 
annuitants returning to work for a 
PSERS’ employer for members who 
chose to combine their SERS and 
PSERS service for one state pension 
by electing multiple service). There 
are some limited exceptions.

An annuitant who renders service to the 
commonwealth as an independent contractor 
may return without impacting his/her pension 
payments. They do not accrue additional 
service credit.

Emergency rehires are limited to 95 days per calendar 
year; annuitants rehired as salaried members of an 
independent board or commission are limited to $35,000 
in annual compensation.

Benefits are suspended for the member. Yes

For emergency rehires, the annuitant 
must either be over his/her normal 
retirement age or be an annuitant 
for more than one year; for 
annuitants rehired as salaried 
members of an independent board 
or commission, they must be retired 
for at least six months prior to 
appointment.

Statute
Statute permits the 95‐day emergency rehire of 
annuitants under specific circumstances. There are 
no other provisions.

No None No None

Rhode Island Rhode Island Employees 
Retirement System

Depends on the employer: 
retired state employees 
may not return to work 
with the state. Municipal 
and educational 
employees may return to 
work for their same or 
other municipal and 
educational employers, 
and retired state 
employees may return to 
work for non‐state 
employers.

Within the system the following 
rules apply to all: Retired state 
employees may not return to work 
with the state. Municipal and 
educational employees may return 
to work for their same or other 
municipal and educational 
employers, and retired state 
employees may return to work for 
non‐state employers.

Same rules apply

No retiree may work for the State without suspending 
their retirement benefit. Municipal employee retirees 
may work up to 75 days or 150 half‐days per calendar 
year. Public school employees may work up to 90 days or 
180 half days per school year.

Benefits are suspended for retirees who 
exceed the statutory limit, until the retiree 
terminates the post‐employment position. 
The retirement system also recoups the 
benefit earned when the retiree exceeded 
the limit.

Yes 45 calendar days Opinion by tax counsel

If a retiree is elected to the General Assembly or 
employed by certain Quasi ‐governmental 
agencies, the retiree may collect their pension and 
salary.

No second retirement benefit
No employer or employee 
contributions are required

No

Public Law No. 2017‐406 increases the gross income limit for retirees who 
return to work for a Rhode Island State college, university, or school, from 
$15,000 to $18,000. Public Law No. 2016‐430 Allows retired members of 
the state retirement system who are certified as substitute teachers to 
substitute teach not more than 90 days in a year without reduction in 
retirement benefits. Public Law No. 2014‐245 permits any retired member 
of the system to serve as a municipal employee and continue to be eligible 
for and receive the retirement allowance for service other than as a 
municipal employee; provided that said municipal employee shall be 
appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the highest elected chief 
executive officer.

South Carolina South Carolina Retirement 
Systems Yes Yes

Currently, the rules only apply to 
reemployment with a participating employer.

Those who retire before age 62 for SCRS (or age 57 for 
PORS) are subject to a $10,000 per year earnings 
limitation.

If the retired member’s earnings from 
covered employment exceed the $10,000 
limitation during a calendar year, the 
retiree’s benefits are suspended for the 
remainder of the calendar year.

Yes

30 consecutive calendar days. For 
Class Two members of SCRS, 
participation in the Teacher and 
Employee Retention Incentive (TERI) 
Program counts toward the required 
30 days of retirement.

Statute

The earnings limit does not apply to those who 
retired before January 2, 2013; those who retired 
after age 62 (SCRS) or age 57 (PORS); and those 
who receive compensation as an elected official or 
in certain offices appointed by the governor or 
legislature. The earnings limit does not apply to 
retired teachers employed in areas of critical 
academic or geographic need, or in a school or 
school district that has received a "below average" 
or "unsatisfactory" academic performance rating. 
Approval for a critical need exemption is required 
to be obtained from the State Department of 
Education.

No additional benefit is accrued.
Employees and employers are 
required to contribute at the same 
rate as for active members.

The system’s DROP plan, the Teacher and 
Employee Retention Incentive (TERI) 
Program, will close on June 30, 2018.

2014: Act 238 of 2014. This act provides that school districts may uniformly 
negotiate salaries below the school district salary schedule for retired 
teachers who are not participants in the Teacher and Employee Retention 
Incentive (TERI) program. 2012: Act 278 of 2012. With regard to post‐
retirement employment, this act expanded the time a member must be 
retired before returning to covered employment from 15 days to 30 days 
and reinstated an annual $10,000 earnings limitation.

South Dakota South Dakota Retirement 
System Yes Yes

The post‐retirement reemployment laws apply 
only to reemployment with a system‐
participating employer.

Retirees who return to work must limit their 
employment to less than 20 hours per week if engaged in 
permanent employment with a system member 
employer. Retirees who return to work in a temporary 
position are not limited to less than 20 hours per week.

For those who retired early with a reduced 
retirement benefit, benefits are 
suspended. For those who retired with a 
full retirement, benefit is reduced by 15 
percent (excluding public safety retirees 
returning to employment that is not public 
safety). For all retirees, COLA is eliminated 
while the retiree continues working and 
employee contributions are directed into a 
supplemental retirement account. 
Employer contributions remain with the 
System.

Yes, if reemployment is permanent 
and full‐time.

Three full calendar months Statute
Benefits of public safety retirees are not reduced if 
the retiree is employed in a position that is not 
public safety.

No additional service credit is earned during the 
period of reemployment. The employee 
contributions of retirees who return to work are 
deposited into a deferred compensation account. 
The employer contributions during the period of 
reemployment remain with the System.

Employee and employer 
contributions will be made during 
the period of reemployment. The 
employee contributions will be 
deposited in a deferred 
compensation account. The 
employer contributions will remain 
with the System.

No

Chapter 23, Laws of 2010 provides that retirement benefits will be 
cancelled for any retired member who returns to covered service within 
three months of retirement. The retiree must repay any benefits received in
the period, or accept an offsetting actuarial reduction in eventual 
retirement benefits. For those who return to covered employment after 
three months, retirement benefits shall be reduced by 15% and the 
member forfeits annual increases during the period of re‐employment. 
Employee and employer contributions will be made during the period of re‐
employment. The employee contributions will be deposited in a deferred 
contribution retirement account. The employer contributions will be made 
to the Retirement System without any credit to the member, and the 
member cannot earn additional service credit during the period of re‐
employment.

Tennessee Tennessee Consolidated 
Retirement System Yes Yes Depends on the circumstance

Equivalent of 120 days within a 12‐month period. A 
retired member who receives approval and returns to 
service before 60 days is also limited to half‐time 
employment. If employed as a teacher in an institution of 
higher education, the member may teach 24 quarter 
hours or 18 semester hours. Compensation is limited to 
63% of final salary indexed by 5% per year.

Retirement allowance is suspended. Yes
60 days, unless approval is granted 
to return to work before 60 days.

Statute

Under certain conditions, a member may work an 
unlimited number of days, in addition to the 120, 
during the 12 month period as a substitute 
teacher.

Statute specifically provides that the retiree will 
not accrue any additional retirement credit during 
the period of temporary reemployment.

Since retired member does not 
accrue additional retirement credit, 
there are no employee/employer 
contributions.

No

Chapter 203, Acts of 2005 reduces the number of situations in a retired 
member of the Consolidated Retirement System may continue to receive 
benefits after returning to covered employment. It extends the number of 
days a retired member may temporarily work in covered employment 
without loss of benefits from 100 to 120 days, and increased the credit 
hours such a member may teach in higher education without loss of 
benefits from 15 credit hours to 18.

Texas Teacher Retirement System of 
Texas Yes Yes

State law provides that a retiree who is 
employed by a third‐party entity is considered 
to be employed by the TRS‐covered employer 
unless the retiree does not provide services or 
perform duties on behalf of the TRS‐covered 
employer.

Those who have been retired more than one month but 
less than one year, may work no more than one half‐
time. Those who have been retired for a full, consecutive 
12‐month period may return to full‐time employment.

Retirement benefit is lost for each month 
in which retiree exceeds the amount of 
time they're allowed to work.

Yes
One full calendar month for half‐
time employment, 12 full calendar 
months for full‐time employment

Statute/IRS regulations

If retired before 1/1/11 as a service retiree, a 
retiree may work in any position, with any 
employer, and for any amount of time, without 
losing annuity payments, and without having to 
complete a 12 month break‐in‐service.

No

Employers covered by TRS must pay 
both a pension and health benefit 
surcharge for hiring retirees who 
work for more than the equivalent of 
four "clock hours" for every workday 
or who work more than one‐half the 
number of workdays in a calendar 
month, and some employers may 
want the retiree to help contribute 
towards the cost. The amount of the 
pension surcharge is equal to the 
amount of both member and state 
contributions.

Yes, for those who enrolled by 12/31/05 No

Texas Texas Employees Retirement 
System Yes Yes Rules apply to both No limitations on hours or earnings N/A Yes 90 days

Legislation (Statute), Government 
Code 812.205

Elected Class (Legislators and Statewide elected 
officials) ‐ Annuity payments will cease if the 
member holds a position in that class after 
retirement but if the retiree elects to become a

Only elected class members (see above)

No employee contributions are 
required by return‐to‐work retirees, 
as they do not acquire additional 
service credit Employers who hire

No

2009: Texas. Chapter 1308, Laws of 2009 (HB 2559), established a 90‐day 
waiting for period for members of the Employee Retirement System who 
retired on or after May 31, 2009, who seek reemployment in a covered 
position The agency that rehires a retiree must make a contribution to the

Texas Texas County & District 
Retirement System Yes Yes Rules apply to both None N/A Yes One full calendar month Statute None

Those who meet the return‐to‐work requirements 
are eligible to apply for and receive an additional 
standard or optional service retirement annuity or 
a refund of the member’s accumulated 
contributions.

A rehired retiree is considered to 
have established a new membership 
for purposes of benefit selection. 
Upon reemployment, both the 
employee and the employer are 
required to begin contributing to a 
new cash balance account.

No None

Texas Texas Municipal Retirement 
System Yes Yes Reference is only to TMRS‐covered positions

The monthly benefit is suspended (payments are 
forfeited by the retiree) for retirees that return to work 
for the reemploying municipality (typically last city from 
which they retired). Returning to work for any other 
employer is permitted without suspension of the 
monthly benefit. A retiree can return to work for the 
reemploying municipality in a position that normally 
requires less than 1,000 hours per year without 
suspension of the monthly benefit.

Benefits are suspended. “Suspended” is 
defined by the TMRS Act as forfeited.

Yes

Technically the TMRS Act requires 
that the retiree be “receiving” 
benefit payments. The first payment 
is made at the end of the month 
following the month of retirement, 
so in effect, 30 days.

Statute

If a retiree returns to work for the same city from 
which he or she retired at least 8 years after his or 
her effective retirement date, he or she may be 
eligible for a lump sum payment of any benefit 
payments that were suspended during the 
reemployment period.

No None No No



Utah Utah Retirement Systems Yes Yes

Retirees who return to work less than one year following 
retirement may receive no benefits and have an annual 
salary cap of the lesser of $16,000 or one‐half of their 
final average salary. Retirees who return to work after 
more than one year following retirement may choose to 
either a) earn a salary, continue to receive their 
retirement benefit, and not earn any additional 
retirement service credit; or b) earn a salary, cancel their 
retirement benefit, and accrue additional service credit 
as they work.

Cancellation of retirement benefit as long 
as the retiree continues to work for a 
system employer.

Yes 60 days Statute
Post‐retirement restrictions exclude a retiree who 
is re‐employed as an active senior judge appointed 
to hear cases by the Utah Supreme Court.

No

Employers are required to pay the 
amortization contribution rate for 
retirees re‐employed on or after July 
1, 2010, at the rate matching the 
retirement system chosen during 
certification.

No None

Virginia Virginia Retirement System

Yes, but only if the 
employer does not 
participate in VRS or the 
position is not VRS‐
covered. In addition, 
certain retirees may work 
for a school division in a 
critical shortage teaching 
position that would 
otherwise be a VRS‐
covered position.

Yes, but only under limited 
circumstances. Certain retired 
teachers may work for a VRS‐
participating school division in a 
critical shortage teaching position 
that would otherwise be a VRS‐
covered position. In addition, a 
retiree may work in a position that is 
not VRS‐covered (e.g., part‐time or 
temporary).

This is determined on a case‐by‐case basis.

Retirees who return to work must work in non‐covered 
employment, defined as a part‐time or temporary 
position. These positions do not provide eligibility for 
benefits. Part‐time positions typically require less than 
80 percent of the hours of comparable full‐time 
permanent positions.

The member must return to active status, 
and retirement benefits must cease as 
long as the member remains an active 
employee.

Yes One full calendar month Board policy

Yes. Certain retired teachers may be eligible to 
work for a VRS‐participating school division in a 
critical shortage teaching position that would 
otherwise be VRS‐covered. In addition, if 
otherwise eligible, an active member of the 
General Assembly may receive a benefit based on 
service credit earned outside of the General 
Assembly.

If a retiree returns to work in a position that is not 
VRS‐covered (e.g., part‐time or temporary) or falls 
into one of the exceptions (e.g., critical shortage 
or General Assembly), then the retiree does not 
earn additional service credit or benefits. If, 
however, a retiree returns to VRS‐covered 
employment and ends receipt of a monthly 
benefit, then the retiree earns additional service 
credit while serving in an active status. Such 
retiree’s benefit will be recalculated upon 
subsequent retirement.

No contributions are required from 
either the employer or the employee 
for retirees who return to work 
under the approved criteria. If a 
retiree returns to work in a covered 
position, he or she must return to 
active service and contributions will 
begin again.

No
In 2015, the critical shortage provisions regarding the rehire of retired 
teachers were extended through June 2020, and in 2019 further extended 
through June 2025. 

Vermont Vermont Retirement Systems Yes Yes Not specified

SERS: An annuitant may not work for the State of 
Vermont unless they are under a contract or working as a 
temporary employee. TRS: Rehired annuitants are limited 
to 60% of the current average teacher's earnings and 
may not work more than the maximum period for 
substitute teachers,

Retirement benefits are frozen, and any 
payments made during the fiscal year 
must be returned to the Retirement 
System

Yes One full calendar month Board policy No No second retirement benefit None No No

Washington Washington Department of 
Retirement Systems Yes Yes Rules apply to both

Reemployed annuitants are limited to 867 hours in a 
calendar year; no earnings limit specified

Benefit is suspended Yes

30 days; if rehired before 30 days, 
benefits are reduced 5.5 percent for 
every 8 hours worked in a month, up 
to 160 hours (PERS and SERS), or for 
every 7 hours worked in a month, up 
to 140 hours (TRS)

A retired teacher who retired under the 2008 Early 
Retirement Factors may return to work exclusively 
as a K‐12 substitute teacher while receiving a TRS 
benefit during the first 867 hours they substitute 
teach each calendar year. This opportunity is 
available through 7/31/2020. Those who retired 
under the 2008 ERFs may not earn compensation 
from a DRS‐covered employer for services 
performed as a contractor while continuing to 
receive their monthly benefit.

No second retirement benefit None No

2016: WA H 1168 (Act #75) re: Public Employees' Retirement System for 
certain retirees, including firefighter, law enforcement officer, and 
institution of higher education employees, returning to work in an 
ineligible position or a position covered by a different state retirement 
system. 2007: Act 50, Laws of 2007 (HB 1262), addresses post‐retirement 
employment. For TRS Plan 1 members and employers, prohibits prior re‐
employment agreements and requires documentation of need and of the 
hiring process. The bill increases the waiting period to one and a half 
months before a TRS Plan 1 retiree can return to work and it implements a 
lifetime limit of 1,900 hours. Any hours worked over 867 in a year while a 
TRS Plan 1 retiree is receiving a pension will be applied to the lifetime limit. 
These provisions are consistent with those that are currently a part of PERS 
Plan 1. 2003: Chapter 412, Laws of 2003, provides that a member of the 
public employee retirement system will not be separated from service upon 
termination of employment if the employee and employer verbally agree 
that the employ will resume employment with the same employer after 
termination. An employee must be suspended from employment three 
months before reemployment to avoid suspension of the pension, if the 
employee works more than 867 hours. The employer must document the 
need to rehire an employee and superior approval is required. The rehired 
employee cannot work more than 1,500 hours in a calendar year without 
suspension of retirement benefits. The bill's similar provisions affecting 
teachers were vetoed. 2001: Legislation allows Teachers' Retirement 
System (TRS) Plan 1 retirees to work for 1,500 hours per fiscal year after 
they retire without reduction in their pension and Public Employees' 
Retirement System (PERS) Plan 1 retirees to work for 1,500 hours per 
calendar year after they retire without reduction in their pension. The bill 
also allows retirees from TRS Plans 2/3, School Employees' Retirement 
System Plan 2/3, and PERS Plan 2 to work for 867 hours per year after they 

West Virginia West Virginia Consolidated 
Public Retirement Board Yes Yes Rules do not apply to contractors.

A PERS retiree may accept temporary employment from 
a participating employer, as long as they do not receive 
compensation in excess of $20,000 during any calendar 
year. A TRS retiree may work for a period of no more 
than 140 days during the school year, or teach college 
level courses on a non‐contract basis for less than 7 
hours of college credits per year.

In TRS the benefit is reduced if the 140 
day limit is exceeded. In PERS the benefit 
is terminated until the next calendar year.

There is no definition of a break in 
service

N/A N/A

Critical shortage exemption for teachers, including 
speech pathologists and school nurses. A retire can 
become an elected official and have the option of 
participating or not.

No None No

Act 221 of 2017 lifts the restriction on the number of days of 
employment for retired teachers hired as teachers, and includes speech 
pathologists and school nurses in the definition of teachers, who return 
to work in areas of critical need and shortage. Act 218 of 2015 lifts the 
restriction on the number of days of employment for retired teachers 
employed as substitutes in areas of critical need and shortage. Act 167 
of 2013 increased the cap on earnings during temporary reemployment 
after retirement, from $15,000 to $20,000.

Wisconsin Wisconsin Retirement System Yes Yes It depends
Re‐employed retirees are subject to current WRS 
participation rules.

Retirement benefits are suspended and 
the member becomes an active participant 
in the WRS again with the member and 
employer making WRS contributions for 
the new service.

Yes
75 days from all WRS participating 
employment.

Statute

All post‐retirement provisions are tied to normal 
WRS participation standards. Participation 
standards may differ between employment 
classifications.

Yes None No
2013 legislation provides that retirees who return to work and meet 
current WRS eligibility standards (2/3 of full‐time) will have their annuity 
suspended until they re‐retire.

Wyoming Wyoming Retirement System

Retirees of the Public 
Employee, Law 
Enforcement, or Guard 
Firefighter plans may 
return to work and 
continue to receive their 
pension benefit; retirees 
of the State Patrol, Game 
& Fish Warden and 
Criminal Investigator Plan, 
firefighter plans, and 
Judicial Plan have their 
retirement benefit 
stopped during the period 
they are working, although 
is considered a new 
employee and would be 
treated the same as any 
other new employee in 
that position working for 
that employer.

Yes
Rules extend to those working via a private 
staffing or placement agency.

None N/A Yes 30 days None None

An employer that hires a retiree into 
a vacant full‐time position within the 
same plan from which the retiree 
originally retired is required to pay 
the rehired retiree payment. The 
rehired retiree payment is equivalent 
to the normal employee and 
employer contributions for 
employees of that plan.

No None


